Day 84: Beached in Paihia


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Bay of Islands » Paihia
February 21st 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

I spent much of the day moping because Paihia wasn't Whitianga. I'd really liked On the Beach Backpackers and Buffalo Bay, and Te Ti Bay seemed a poor substitute. There's much more traffic in Paihia, and they're doing construction along the beachfront as well.

I verified that I can walk into town, though it takes me half an hour or so. That's good, because it means I won't need to take a taxi to get to the wharf for my first tour, which leaves tomorrow morning. Sadly, the camera-charger does appear to have fried after all, so I'll be taking very few bloggable pictures from now on. Thanks to Kevan, I'll be able to take pictures for my own records, but my computer Plum can't read the memory card of the camera he's lent me.

In the afternoon, at Jim's urging, I walked in the other direction and found a part of Te Ti Beach that was away from construction and not so much of a tourist trap. I may be able to be happy here after all.

I keep reminding myself that it would be both stupid and very expensive to bolt home early just because I'm homesick, and anyway the tours do sound exciting. It's unfortunate that it's very close to being the wrong time of the month again; cramps are not improving my mood.

Ten days now till I board the airplane. And if all goes well, two weeks from now I'll be home.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0836s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb