Stomache turning start


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 16th 2016
Published: November 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

November 12, Saturday

Had the house all cleaned for C&E to dogsit, bags packed and the rain subsided as we walked to the Seabus. Timely connections and we were at the airport 3 hours ahead of time as I like for international flights. Minor line up and my suitcase was underweight. THEN the agent explained our passports would have to be checked. Not worried they were only a year old and good for 10 years. Seems there's a half cm waterdrop on Ross' photo and on mine the nose is rather indistinct (a good thing I thought) due to water damage. Clerk 1 consulted with clerk 2 who then called the supervisor. She spent 5 to 10 minutes talking with others and then came and asked us a few questions about the purpose of our trip. Leisure - an accountant and a retired teacher. She said she had to call immigration to see if they would accept the passports and she took photos of the "damage". Off she went and another 15 minutes pass while others take our spot at the check-in and get their boarding passes, giving us sideways looks. Back comes the supervisor with a small smile. "I'm sorry but I have bad news. You cannot board with these passports. Here's the number to call to cancel your outbound trip." I waited for her to say she was kidding and that we would have to see the embassy in Auckland or just get the passports fixed before the next trip. I mean both countries are part of the Commonwealth and although my picture looks like a criminal and Ross just looks stunned we really weren't going to cause any harm. She continued giving directions on what to do while my mind was spinning trying to grasp the ramifications. Could hardly speak as we trudged our suitcases outside. Got through to Air New Zealand in about 15 min. and cancelled the flight and that agent explained the $200 charges to change the tickets and explained we may have to pay extra when we rebook if the price is different at time of booking. C&E came and got us since there was no way I was going to do the seabus route now. C&E of course had to give up their bed and the run of the place for a few days while we sorted things out. At home we left the suitcases packed and ready at the front door. Nothing to do this night.

November 13, Sunday

No offices open. Called the rental car company and gave our sob story. Then emailed the tour company about our tour to White Island, the landlord of the house we are renting and the caretaker who had the keys. Got new passport photos done. Waited.

November 14, Monday

Up early to get to the passport office as it opened at 8:30. Got there early via seabus but so did the 50 people ahead of us. In fact we found out the office opened at 7:30. Stood in line for about 35 min and then found out we had to use the regular form so we needed a guarantor, references and birth certificates. Back on the seabus. Mad at ourselves for not reading all the fine print. Scurried around making sure we had correct addresses, spellings, etc. On the Seabus again by 11:00. In a longer line-up this time. Inched along listening to others talking about their travel plans, blah, blah. Didn't really feel like talking since I was supposed to be at sunny beaches and warm weather. Clerk checked we had everything and I thought that was it but it was only pre-screening. We now got to go in longer line-up. You'd think I would have brought my ereader or my tablet to entertain me but I had nothing. I was still under the assumption this was an easy fix. Finally we were called up. This clerk explained that damaged passports require more scrutiny and detail than lost or stolen passports (keep that in mind). She said it would take 30 min at least to prep all the paperwork to send to Ottawa and we could pick up new passports in mid morning Tues unless we got lucky. Also she would be calling all our references and our guarantor. So I'm on the phone calling a friend who happens to be in Hawaii and begging her to keep her cell on and answer the government call. I had to fill out an extra form and call another friend since one of our references wasn't home. I didn't realize how stressed I was until I couldn't get my shoulders down out of my ears. (I later heard the descriptions of me by these 'friends' of mine as the clerk had asked them to describe us). I needed to stay around in case there was something needed so Ross took the Seabus and went home and I wandered to Pacific Center
(shopping therapy). Back to the pp office at 3 and sat. I should have bought a book or something. At 3:45 I went to the pickup line and was shocked that they were ready. Happily signed for mine. Asked for Ross' - no. We hadn't signed the "permission to pickup" line on the receipt. Panic call to Ross to catch the 4:00 seabus as the office closes promptly at 4:30 and the security guard reminded me of that every 5 minutes. Ross arrived with 7 minutes to spare. Back on the Seabus with new passports at twice the price. I have guffawed at people who had to pay that fee before. Not so much now. Time to go on hold with Air New Zealand. I knew about the cancellation fee so that was no surprise but a last minute outbound for Auckland was a bit of a stunner. Our great air price and budget holiday now seems like a luxury trip. We fly out Wed. and arrive on Friday due to the international date line. If you don't hear from me within another week you can assume we are hiding out at home and didn't get there.

Sorry no Pictures unless you want to see my suitcases by the door!

Advertisement



16th November 2016

Bon Voyage
May this second attempt at getting off the ground work! And I presume these works of art passports will be inside a waterproof container......You will have a wonderful trip and a story that lasts even longer than the trip!
16th November 2016

Small sized zip lock works well ....so far.
16th November 2016

Bon Voyage
You certainly deserve a great vacation. Keep your powder (passport) dry.
16th November 2016

OH SHIT!
What an awful start and a good warning to us all. I know the rest of your holiday will be pure bliss!
17th November 2016

WOW
We're feeling for you!!! Leaving Father & Mavis tomorrow on our way to Cuenca. Enjoy NZ when u get there!!! Big hugs:-):-):-) A

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb