What a day!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 7th 2012
Published: November 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrive safely Wednesday 7am.

Quite a journey. For those of you don't know this was my 1st ever flight. I did not tell everyone at work, because I just knew that you make me nervous by telling me horror stories about your worst ever flight. Anyway I really enjoyed the flight, it went without event althought quite a lot of turbulaance on the second leg of my journey, but I slept through most of the flight.

A tip for future flights tell them that you require a diabetic meal; much nicer than what everyone else had!

Landed at approx 7am yesterday all was well I though, until I spotted a cameraman as I entered the terminal building, yes they were filming Border Control. Not that it bothered me me as I had nothing to worry about or so I thought. I went on my way as the cameraman stayed with the guy the customs dog has stopped. "Any food items" they asked me, "Peanuts and fruit cake" I said, "No problem go one through". I put my bags through to be x-rayed and was asked why did I not declare my walking poles and walking boots. Agh! I genuinely mis-read the question as used and new ones would be OK. He asked me to open my bag, then must have taken pity on me, "New you say?" he asked, "yes only worn in the office"", " I believe you, don't worry about" so I was on my way with no fine for not declaring them.

No sooner that I had put backs back on a trolley I was asked to stop by an official with a dog, the dog had picked up that I had some fruit in my bag which I handed in at LA.

Sorry to disappoint you folks, I will not be making my debut TV appearance on Border Control.

Got a bus from the airport to Auckland and picked up van. I will upload a picture next time.

Got the campsite thanks to SatNav, all I wanted was a shower and a change of clothes, but no I had to wait a while. Somehow when I freshened up at the airport I managed to change the combination on my padlock! Did the campsite guy have a hacksaw no, but he gave me direction to get to a hardware store where 2 very nice gentleman helped out and got a set of bolt croppers to get me into my rucksack.

I seem to have l0st all sense of direction, every time the guy a the campsite gives me directions I manage to get lost, but I have developed an interesting technique, I park up and get SatNav to direct me back to the campsite and I always manage to find the place I am looking for on the way back to the campsite! Not very fuel efficient but it seems to work.

Any way it is a beautiful day, so I am going to make the most of it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb