Let the Journey Begin!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 8th 2012
Published: January 10th 2012
Edit Blog Post

After approximately 40 hours of travel time (which included four flights totalling almost 18 hrs and 22 hrs spent wandering aiports in Regina, Calgary, Los Angeles, Fiji) I have arrived in Auckland, New Zealand with a very sore neck and a new confidence in my abilty to navigate airports! Who would have thought that if you just paid close attention there would be signs everywhere to point you in the right direction and, if that failed, you could easily find an information booth with someone to help you find your way.

Once arriving in Auckland I caught the city bus to the hostel I had previously booked on Hostelworld.com. The hostel that I stayed in is called Base Auckland and I bunked in a 6 person dorm room (all females). After getting my room key I had a shower and a quick nap in order to reenergize. Then I went downstairs to the Globe bar for some free Dominos pizza and a pool competition organized by the activity director of the hostel. While standing around the bar I met a guy from the UK named Brenig who was travelling independently and two guys from.... wait for it..... Regina, Saskatchewan. Can you believe it? haha. The Saskatchewan boys are named Chris and Eric and have been travelling New Zealand for a few weeks now, have run out of money, and are now looking for jobs. Many people had told me that it is easy to meet people when travelling and I can see now that they were right. Everyone is friendly here and I am excited for all that I will see and do in the next few weeks.

I will be meeting my travel partner, Michelle, in about 1 hr. Michelle and I worked together in Moose Jaw for a brief time and, through facebook, have arranged to travel New Zealand together. This partnership was not initially a part of my plan but I am very excited to have someone to share this adventure with.


Advertisement



11th January 2012

Yay!!
So glad to hear you made it there safely! I knew you would make some friends right away :) Have fun beautiful girl xoxo
11th January 2012

Good Luck!
VERY VERY inspiring premise to travel! Best of luck in your travels and if you need any info on central american countries or things to do or watch out for just shoot me a message as I was there last year. --Greg
11th January 2012

Not Surprising
It's not surprising to me that Crystal can find new friends in airports, hostels, or wherever she goes! My friend Larry Somers (who also taught at Riverview) grew up in Regina, then met his wife Tracey (who grew up three houses down the street from me, also in Regina) in a Bar in Australia on a similar adventure... just saying. By the way, Mrs Babich and Miss Gardner would be proud of your writing!
14th January 2012

Yay!
I had forgotten where your blog was. Pretty sure I didn't get an email when you posted this. Oh well - I'll just have to come back here every so often :) Looks like you're enjoying your adventures so far, my friend. Looking forward to your new posts. Stay safe & love life xoxo
14th January 2012

Let me know if if doesn't work next time k? I will be posting in the next week or so. Let everyone know that I miss them!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0687s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb