Ex-Pat Newbie: Return to Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
July 4th 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I sold almost everything, or gave it away. It was a very cleansing experience. Our possessions do not define us; on the contrary they weigh us down, making us feel as if change is impossible. I did however decide to travel with a smattering of clothes and my camping gear. This turned out to be a big mistake. Had I researched the airline baggage fees accurately, I would have realized that it would have been cheaper to leave all of this stuff behind. But, I didn’t. That’s just the way it was. I ended up paying almost $500 to travel with 3 checked bags. Not too bad for a move across the world, but in hindsight, I could have bought a lot of nice new clothes and gear for that price. So my advice to those moving across the world, just leave it all behind - everything. Bring nothing except a carry-on or two. Seems crazy, but it really makes sense in the end, trust me.
Now I am in Auckland. I decided to stay here for a few days to re-acclimate myself to the country before flying to Blenheim to meet my new employers. I feel as if I am in a dream. I can’t believe I am finally here again. It is the beginning of July, the end of winter here, about 60 degrees Fahrenheit. I am nervous and excited at the same time. I have a challenging few weeks ahead - I will be introduced to my new job, look for new accommodation, a new car, and new friends. (I think Adrienne and Eva are back in Blenheim, so it will be nice to have some old friends to catch up with!) My next year will encompass, learning the Kiwi wine market, travel to Australia, back to America, then on to Sweden, Ireland, England, and Singapore. I can’t hardly wait! Thanks to everyone who has been following along on my adventure - there certainly will be plenty of more exciting tales to come…


Advertisement



6th July 2010

how about my country - MALAYSIA???
Hi Peggy, How about Malaysia since you will drop in Spore....hahha~~

Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb