First Day in Auckland


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
January 31st 2006
Published: January 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Waiting in the Internation section of SFOWaiting in the Internation section of SFOWaiting in the Internation section of SFO

Bear goes with me everywhere
I’M HERE!!!! So the flight wasn’t all that bad. We had full range over what movie, TV show, animation or documentary you could think of. Yes I did was 1.5 hrs of CSI. I was in heaven. I got extremely lucky by finding two people I recognized from Santa Cruz and just so happened we were sitting a row in front of each other. I switched seats with the girl in their row and the 3 of us did the flight together. And an added bonus one of the girls Kat is going to Christchurch via the train, so I now have a train buddy as well. Our flight attendant was so awesome, adorable kiwi accent and funny as all get out. Both Kat and I had our stuffed traveling companions with us and the flight attended (which I never learned his name, I really have to work on that) brought over his stuffed polar bear he takes flying with him and he rode the trip with us. Meredith, Kat and I all got Champaign with dinner and toasted to our upcoming adventures! It was the perfect way to start off the trip.
I’m now in Auckland, customs was fine no
I found a Starbucks!!I found a Starbucks!!I found a Starbucks!!

You knew i could
big deal, everyone was super sweet, ready to get things started. The bus ride to the university was hilarious, I thought for sure we were going to die, all the people driving on the wrong side of the road and speed limits of 100+ this place is crazy. Okay I know it’s the right side of the road for them and the speed limit is in km/hr, but it is still going to get some getting used too.
My room here is about the size of a closet, I'm glad I’m not staying her for good. There is only one plug and they only let you use websites that are school related! How lame is that.
Gregor, Meredith, Kat and I walk down town…2.5 mile away! My feet are so freaking sore!!! But I must say it is a beautiful city, a little to busy for my tastes. The architecture is amazing (see attached pictures). It was great getting down town, stopping in the parks, climbing the trees, but that was all down hill. Coming home was killer. One: its up hill, Two: its about 89*F and humid! Three: I’m running off about 4 hrs of sleep if I’m lucky.
Auckland HarborAuckland HarborAuckland Harbor

It's so beautiful

Well that’s about it for day one of my mass adventure. It’s off to the dinning hall for another interesting meal and then I’m going to bed! I’m hopping to climb a volcano tomorrow!!
Till Next time!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

My new home for 7 daysMy new home for 7 days
My new home for 7 days

Kinda scary isen't it


31st January 2006

Hey babes!!
Its sooo good to hear that you made it safely!! I love you kiddo! It sounds that you are are definitely going to have a fabulous time there!! your life is so much better than mine in cold ass davis!! I love you!!
31st January 2006

You Lucky Dog
Have the time of your life cuz. I am both envious and extremely proud of you. Keep up with this journal so I can live vicariously through you. Love you.
31st January 2006

Good ON YA!!!
Oh, how I wish I was there with you...Auckland is amazing, make sure to check out the Dominion where the seasonal greenhouses are as well as the rose garden! There is also BOMB Indian food on Queenstreet in the malls and some underground food courtyards...7.99, you cant beat it! I know you will learn to love the Kiwi way of life and have many stories to share! Good Luck Baba! P.S. Wharehouse is your friend!!!!!!!
31st January 2006

Oh-You are up and running!
What time did you get there? If it is noon on Monday in Texas, what time is it there? Love the Starbucks picture and so glad you found friends on the way over. And yes, the sleeping accomadations does look scary. Hope the new ones are much better. Can't wait to read. your next entry. Hugs!
1st February 2006

lovings to ya
So glad to hear you arrived safely, and to view some photos. When you said dining hall, I just remembered that when I was there, lamb was by far the most popular food (that and kiwis), eek! Let me know what creative vegetarian options you find. :)
1st February 2006

Sounds like you're going to have amazing adventures. I am SO jealous (obviously says the girl who is rejoicing because the sun has come out in Spokane for the first time since she's been back). Have tons of fun!! Love you

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb