Jeronimo!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
October 13th 2005
Published: October 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

As you saw from the photos in the last blog, I did it!

You can't believe the fear that goes through you when you step out onto a thin ledge, 192m above a rather harsh-looking concrete below you! With both white-knuckled hands gripping, one after the other along the railing, I slowly stepped out and the guy, (who rather worryingly was in training), harnessed me up on top of the tallest building in the southern hemisphere.

Ok, previously I might have withheld the small fact that the jump would be a 'base jump by wire' meaning that you were caught and lowered by a wire on the way down, so it's not quite a bungy, but it's a good warm up - you've gotta take these things one step at a time you know!

Anyway, Kim jumped first, (obvisouly I was gentelmanly and let her go first), then I just did it! I couldn't really believe that I did it, but I've got the photo evidence to prove it! FANTASTIC! Especially because my stomach has been upside down since the infamous Won Ton soup I ate in Kowloon - I did tell the guy at the bottom that he might need an umbrella if my stomach didn't hold out! We even did it again, cause they weren't very busy and said we could have 2 for the price of 1 - does this mean I jumped 284m???

Got a new dorm-mate, a nice German guy called Ben who I'm going out with tonight for a few drinks. Don't mention the war!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.244s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb