Life's Little Annoyances


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
November 3rd 2018
Published: November 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

November 2018
08:29

Arrived safely at Auckland this morning. It was not without incident. It is a good job that I am no longer a stresshead.

The last 48hrs has included a few minor irritations, which a few years ago would have had me stressing; but not anymore. Finally learned not to stress about the small stuff.

Where to start with the annoyances. First one was my medication not being delivered. I called my surgery to do an emergency prescription on Wednesday, but it would not be ready to pick until Thursday afternoon. I intended to leave my house on Thursday morning.

My landlord, bless him, decided, as I was home Thursday morning, to do some jobs. This did not help on the cat catching situation. So the long and the short of it was I did not leave my house until 3.50pm and dropped the cats at the cattery about 5ish.

As the cattery was near my brother's; I stayed with him Thursday with the intention of getting the bus to the station. Well as I got there late I did not check the bus times until Friday morning. So annoyance number two was there were not a bus early enough to get me to the station. At this point I had visions of having to walk the 2 miles with my rucksack. Luckily the second taxi I called said they could pick me up at 8.

So far so good. I know from experience that sometimes taxis are keen to say you weren't there when we went to pick you up. So to avert possible disaster I loaded myself up with all my gear and was outside by 7.50.

Just as I started to wonder where the taxi was I got a phone call saying that they had knocked on the door of the address I gave and had woken up a little old lady. So that was annoyance number three.

I got to the station in good time to pick up my prepaid ticket from the machine. You guessed it; annoyance number four. I had got the card I paid for the ticket with me. I was all set to have to pay for another ticket; but the man at the counter saved the day and was able to issue a ticket when I gave him the booking reference.

Finally, on the train; what else could go wrong?
The first train ran to time, the second train arrived 35 minutes late in London. This was annoyance number five as it seriously cut into my travel time across London for my connection to the airport. Luckily, I got my connection with a minute to spare. Hurrah.

Self check in at the airport went smoothly. Settled in with a newspaper and bite to eat. My gate number was announced early, so off I go; thinking that you do a hell of a lot of walking at airports. Many miles later, I may be exaggerating, I spotted a loo and thought I must go as I was not sure how many more miles to go.

I continue on my adventure and get to departure gate in plenty of time. Just happily watching the world go when they announced my seat number was ready for boarding. One finally pat down to make sure I have everything. Panic, phone, where is my phone. That is annoyance number six, in case you lost count.

Had a think, and thought that the most likely place I left it was the loo. You know what is like, you don't want your phone to fall out of your back pocket and in the loo again, so I put it on the toilet roll holder.
Blind panic sets, this loo is miles away, again I might be exaggerating. I start my route march back to the loo. Agggh. The cubicle I used was locked, all the others were empty, so we are at annoyance number seven.

The cleaner had locked the cubicle with phone in, security were probably already on the way. Anyway, she unlocked the door for me. Hurrah, the phone Gods were looking after me.

Now to make the long trek back to the boarding gate. Knowing my luck so far on this journey they will go without me! They were still boarding when I got and no tannoy announcement for me report to desk number whatever.

All going well, until annoyance number eight; I was pulled over to one side for additional security screening, my bags were tested for drugs. I will admit to a lot of medication but nothing illicit. My boarding card was marked with security risk, some thing or other.

Finally boarded. What could possible go wrong now I was on the plane. Apparently, the gods were determined to make my journey memorable. We are up to annoyance number nine now. Went to the loo and went to take my passport out of back pocket; for the same reason that I take the phone out of my pocket when using a loo. It was not there. How the hell could I lose my passport after I had boarded the plane. It seems that I had been jiggling in my seat try to get comfortable enough to sleep and it had fallen out my pocket. It was on my seat when I got back to it.

Get to LA and I need to get of the plane while they refuel etcetera, as I was in transit I was told to show my boarding pass to Air New Zealand staff and they would tell me what to and where to go etc., another annoyance (10), my boarding pass shows Heathrow to LA instead of Heathrow to Auckland.

She calls through and confirms that I am due continue my journey on the same plane. She gave me a large turquoise card with Air New Zealand on it and said that she will sort out a new boarding card. I head off in the direction she pointed me, obviously looking lost, as I was carrying the karge turquoise card Air New Zealand staff presented themselves to me and carried on pointing in the right direction.

I did not have to collect my baggage at LA, but did have to go through customs. The turquoise card continued to act as a beacon to Air New Zealand staff who appear from nowhere to tell where to go. One of these angels spotted that I did not look well, I was in the early stages of a hypo due to all the walking with a heavy bag, so she rushed me through the special assistance gate at customs.
Almost at the final hurdle, picked up new boarding card and reluctantly handed in the big turquoise card. I was on my own again now.

They gave me the gate number and I went, for another long walk. I keep walking and I can see no sign of the gate number I am looking for. Then I spotted a departure board which gave another gate number for Air New Zealand, about turn get to the other gate number and the first one was the right one. Annoyance number 11 if you are still counting , or even care.

Get to the correct gate just as they are calling my seat number for boarding. On the plane, what can go wrong. Some bugger is in my seat is what can go wrong (12). He is insisting he has the right seat, so I show him my boarding pass and he checks his, he should be in the row in front.

There is so consolation after all the walking I have done, I am exhausted and sleep for a solid 7hrs. That is more that I manage in my own bed if the cats are annoying me.

Just waiting for 10am local time to call the camper van people to pick me up.

I will keep posted


Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb