Millionaire's Island


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Waiheke Island
October 17th 2005
Published: November 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Spent the night listening to the Heavey Sleeper's mating snore call. Sadly meant I, (and the whole dorm), kept waking up at roughly 2 hour intervals meaning by 7am I was fed up and feeling wide awake, (WakADay Style), so got up, showered and packed for a day trip.

On the way out I checked with Reception asking about Lord Al, I made up some story about us being great mates and him promising to give me his contact details, but having to rush off early for a flight. Anyway, it worked and the girl started searching for Lord Al, in dorm 820 on the night that I met him.

She searched.

And searched.

And tried all names beinning with A, but still no luck. The penny was starting to drop, and I leaned over, turned her screen around and checked out for myself all the occupants of that dorm on the night. Nothing! There wasn't one name on the list that even resembled Alexander or Alex, or even beginning with A! Looks like I've been fed a red herring of the most monsterous proportions, but it still didn't make much sense, when you think that he splashed ridiculous amounts of cash around and could speak several different languages and had visited almost everywhere in the world, (he talked to several of our taxi drivers about their home towns in Fiji, India and other random places). Madness. I left, with the whole mystery mulling over in my head, trying to desperately think how I could possibly track Mr Ripley down.....hmmmm......

Anyway....

The 9am ferry arrived at Waiheke Island 35mins later and I jumped on a bus to Hekerua Lodge, a rather quaint and studenty little establishment with pool, hot tub and 2 gigling Japanese girls that reminded me of that James Bond where 2 bikini-clad babes wrestle James in a swimming pool. I give them a wide berth, just to be on the safe side.

The place is run by a guy that can only be described as a rock and roll ex-pat stoner - a really nice Devonshire guy called Mark who's just starting out on the dance scene and was mixing up some pretty good tunes on his decks.

Stunning sunshine followed me as I started into town via Onera Beach, picked up some food and settled back down in front of the waves to read the New Zealand Herald. It was a huge beach with only me and a dog-walker on. I quickly started to burn while my brain slowly climbed my first Soduko mountain.

Spotted a pair of organge-peal thighs wobbling in and out of the rock pools and went over to investigate. Turns out she was musscle-hunting, mmmm, interesting, so I took some tips and a recipie and started harvesting some frui de la mer to accompany this evenings vegetable stir-fry.

....Dont miss the next thrilling installment of vomiting and horrendous food poisoning!...



Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 121; dbt: 0.117s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb