the first one


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Takapuna
March 16th 2012
Published: March 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

right,

so im doing this so Liz can stalk officially!

I got here, the flight was horrific, i thought 14 hours with captain Jack was my ideal situation to be in, turns out, its not that fun!

Manchester to Dubai was fine, dubai airport.....immense! I showered! showered in an airport, totally new to me! But welcome! then got on the massive plane Airbus A380, upstairs has its own cabins like on a ferry, however they DO NOT take kindly to common chicken class folk trying to get involved up there!

So sitting up for 14 hours isnt fun, and apparently the person next to me wasnt to impressed with my trying to rest my feet on him, so i settled for the floor.........comfy for a while!

then i land in sydney, have to get off the plane for an hour then back on, the last thing i wanted to do was get on another flight, but 3 hours later i land in Auckland. After spending an hour in the que to get my visa i grab my bag and set for the door and its windy!! (its meant to be summertime!!!)

Paul, my boss, meets me at the airport and its one of the most welcome sights ever! i friendly face........and we hit the road for a 'tikitour' my first New Zealand language barrier. a tikitour is just a drive around basically! We co up 'one tree hill' which is an exstinct volcano which is also a song made famous from a band.....your mission is to find out which band, the song is called one tree hill.

we stand on top and take in the gray, auckland skyline! Its still pretty impressive even without the sun!



then we drive to the north shore, which is around 20mins from the city centre, and what will be my home for the fore seeable.

im living with paul and anne, who run the swim centre were i work and thier daughter laura. All very nice people.

my work in between Albany and Greenhithe.

It takes me a couple of days to get over the intense sleepyness, not jet lag really, just tired from being awake loads and being dead busy in my last few emotional days in england.



im going to skip a couple of bored days where it rained, beacuse that will just make you happy! so, i started work straight away, im wokring full time at the centre, most of in teaching then the rest admin tasks ect.......but its all fine, pretty boring work, but easy and i leave there and forget about it, just what i wanted, not like school.

I work with an irish girl called Niamh (neeve) and a candian guy called Will, who are both really cool, and been here alot longer then me so are helping me out loads! and then the rest of the people at work are all really nice kiwi's who again are so nice and helpful all the time!

I have been exploring the area as best i can, looking for places to live around, so me and the NZ buses are getting along fine.

I caught a lift into the city one sunday with Will to watch a Warriors rugby match were i met Laura Tattersfield and Liam, and i spent the day drinking beer in the sun watching some quality rugby, we then headed back onto the shore to Takapuna and had food and drinks. Takapuna is a very 'headingley' meets prinny av area and i decided this is where i want to live! Easy bus to work and buses inot the city, and a nightbus from the city fro the big nights out!

So..........i now have a place to Takapuna. I will be living with 2 kiwi guys, 1 kiwi girl and a german girl. All very nice socialible people! the house in between the beach and the lake and its very close to Niamh's house and the bars in taka so i will be visiting these often!

i will leave it there for now, and i will update you from sunday when i move into my new place!



and also have some pictures for you all!

bye xxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb