The Last Supper


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » St. Heliers
March 28th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We were up fairly early and went to the beach, but El was feeling restless and "unorganised" (this made me smile) so she headed back to pack her bags. She met me after; we picked up wine from the Bottle-O and sat on the park which was full of families and groups of friends playing sport and having picnics. We ended up get getting pretty tipsy after just a few glasses (I'm sure alcohol has a different affect in the daytime).
Ellie did us proud and made a wonderful fritata for dinner. I'm really going to miss her cooking but hopefully I've picked up enough tips from her to try a lot of the things at home. We sat and did our last pedicure together - we both kept getting tears in our eyes and saying Humph. I rang my friend Jess to ask her the answer to a question we'd all been discussing. I knew she'd know the answer! She was at the airport with her boyfriend Howard getting ready to board a flight to Cuba. Both Jess and Howard are very good friends of mine so I'm gutted they won't be around for me coming home, but they have to take holidays at term time as Jess is a teacher.
Me and Ellie reminiced and giggled about what a great time we've had. Went outside for a cigarette. Although I hardly smoke at all anymore, we had to have our last "Pass, Pass, Puff, Puff, give me sugar mother hooker"... just for old times sake.
Back in the living room we couldn't get settled and kept eating and drinking, trying to make the feeling go away. After troffing a load of sweet and savory pastries (playing 'guess the flavour') and sinking more wine, we realised we were just trying to put off the "Goodnight/ Goodbye". And so we hugged and off to bed we went :-(

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb