Surprise!!!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Ponsonby
June 3rd 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well my flight left Bangkok on June 2nd at 7:30pm at night but we were delayed by about an hour as it was monsoon raining with so much lightning that the plane couldn't fly. We finally took off and the plane was half empty. I had a whole row of seats to myself which was nice so I could lay down to sleep. When I woke up we were an hour and a half from Auckland. Perfect timing.

As we got into Auckland I could already feel the cooler air and it was like heaven! I waited in line to go through customs all confident that there wouldn't be a problem as I already had a visa and it was all good. Nope. I got pulled to the side and told to wait at immigration as my visa was showing a different day when they scanned my passport to the date stamped in my passport. Basically, it said that my visa expired today but my passport shows I can be there until Sept 2nd. After 45 minutes it was all sorted and I was on my way again.

Another guy who was stuck at immigration left at the same time with me and our bags were left on the ground by the baggage collection area. For some reason the guy picked up my bag and started to walk off. Good thing I was there to stop him. So me and my bag headed through immigration and all that and I was on my way. Headed back to the hostel I stayed at before and dropped my stuff. This is the point I realized that I really didn't have any clothes for warmer weather except for my rain jacket as all my sweaters were at Pete's house.

So, Pete didn't know that I was coming back this early as I hadn't told him about the Cambodia disaster. So I hopped on a bus and found my way to his house and knocked on the door. SURPRISE! He looked quite shocked to see me standing there. So he got me all my warm things and we hung out for the evening before he took me grocery shopping for some food. He's a really sweet guy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1014.6kb