A hen’s night, 3 weddings and multiple vineyards


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » North Shore
April 22nd 2008
Published: May 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I recently took 2 trips back to New Zealand for Ida & Mark’s, Robyn & Greg’s and Nicky & Quentin’s weddings. The first trip was to attend Ida & Mark’s wedding in February, I arrived on Dad’s birthday so we went out for a lovely lunch in the sunshine at Auckland’s viaduct. Little did I know I would be back there later that evening.

The girls had done a fantastic job decorating Ida and Mark’s place for her Hen do; the theme was ‘my first ball’. Everyone looked fabulously glam in their old ball gowns. There was a topless waiter to serve us ladies champagne and cocktails, he was rather saucy; there were lots of little games so Ida got some vodka jelly’s in. After many bubbles we headed off into town for some dancing (and maybe a little bit of dancing on bar’s to Dolly!). Later that evening Mark came home from his stag-do and shared with us his costume, the mankini, ah-la Borat, hilarious. Most of the week the rain set in so I didn’t get up to too much, but managed to catch up with various folks. On Thursday we headed out to Hotel DuVin an hour or so out of Auckland the venue of the wedding. The marquee was being erected in the gardens. The wedding the following day was a wonderful. Ida was a gorgeous bride; the ceremony was very special in the beautiful gardens and we had some fun taking wedding snaps in the passing showers. The highlights of the reception had to be Mark singing a song to Ida during speeches and their wicked first dance, which had the wedding party yahooing! On the Sunday I flew back to London, the first 48hrs of flying time under my belt.

Photos

6 weeks later I was on my way back to NZ for another 10day visit. Scott picked me up at the airport and later that afternoon after a visit to the hairdresser/beautician we were off to Swanson for Robyn and Greg’s wedding. It was a lovely summer’s afternoon and Robyn and Greg’s ceremony was lovely; agreeing to share deserts was a great touch I thought. Robyn was stunning in her sweeping gown. There was champagne in the court yard as a band played before we entered for the reception. We had a lovely evening and it was great seeing everyone. The next day Kara (who was also in Auckland for the wedding) went to visit our Nana’s, who are both doing marvellously! Off to the hairdresser/beautician again that afternoon before heading over to the city for Nicky & Quentin’s evening wedding at Toto. It was a fab location a cellar like environment all romantically lit up with candles. Nicky was wearing a striking Victorian style beautifully embroidered dress, she looked fantastic. The reception was good fun and I got the opportunity to meet many of Scott’s family; there were lots of cousins! The following day we went out to Nicky and Quentin’s house near Piha for the wedding afternoon tea, their place is great lots of space, a fab place in the native bush.

We were due to head off to do a hike, with Scott’s Mum & Dad, but a massive storm hit NZ and it absolutely tipped down. Thus the walk got canned and we headed off early Tuesday straight down to the Hawke’s Bay to visit some of the delightful vineyards in the region. We didn’t waste any time and visited a couple that afternoon. I bought an award winning dessert wine, a little different I think. The next day it was still raining, but that didn’t stop us getting out there and sampling NZ’s finest. The highlight had to be Craggy Range, the architecture was stunning as was the natural beauty surrounding (and I purchased another bottle of vino). That evening we had a wonderful evening at The Mission, fantastic food and wine.

The following morning I flew back up to Auckland and in the evening I headed out to dinner with Steve and Petrina at a local pub, amazing seafood. On Friday Mum & Dad and I headed up to Matakana which was great it has grown so much since I was there 4yrs ago, it was a lovely day out. That evening was Ida’s birthday which was a hoot and bit of dress-up was the name of the game that evening. And we repeated that trick the following evening as well. Saturday we headed out to Piha was it still one the most dramatic beaches I have ever been to, we had dinner at Nicky and Quentin’s and had a whale of a time. There was wrestlers, fruity turbans, dancing, records, cocktails in the spa and we wrapped up the evening with some Spinal Tap. Scott and I went out to visit our Nana’s that morning, (Scott’s Nana is also at the same rest home!), it was lovely to see them and I know they were pleased to meet Scott. That evening I flew back to London so a grand total of 96hrs in the air for my NZ adventures.

Photos


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 47; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb