Hello Sailor!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Devonport
March 16th 2010
Published: March 23rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Ellie and I slept again until 11am. Finally I feel like our "jetlag" has worn off. Grabbed a strong frothy skinny latte on the way to the bus station at St Helliers shops, then watched a guy windsurfing in the sea while we waited for the bus to arrive. He did really well and we could see how difficult it must be to do this sport.
Headed downtown, then boarded another bus to Devenport, a historic seaside village on Auckland's North Shore that is also home to the New Zealand Navy base. We had lunch in a lovely indoor cafe with potted plants, and birds flying around. I was so engrossed in my book that I couldn’t even look up to eat my toasie until I'd finished it - anyone that knows me well would tell you food ALWAYS comes first with me, so yes it really was a good book.
Fed some of the dainty birds the crusts of my toastie - you would have thought I'd have learnt from Sydney not to do this as they all come flocking down, but I quickly came up with a solution (you see I'm not as brain dead as I may have thought) and instead of running away in terror, I ripped up loads of little pieces and slatted them on the floor so they could grab a few each.
Had our second strong frothy skinny latte of the day and were positively vibrating. Walked along Davenports coastline to the Maritime Museum which is free to get in, and although it's only small it has lots of war time Navy things to look at. When we came out, there were some real-life Sailors in uniform coming from the Navy base to the car park, so Ellie batted her eyelashes and asked if we could have a picture with them.
That afternoon we caught the ferry back to Auckland, and the bus back to Jenny and Donna's house. I nipped out for a while to work on the internet. The nearest Internet cafe was in Mission Bay so my walk home was a little dark and daunting! Stupidly I'd not taken Ellie's New Zealand phone number so panicked the majority of the way home, but made it back safely, not a scratch on me. Well done me.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 26; qc: 117; dbt: 0.1404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb