Feet on the Ground


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
April 20th 2010
Published: April 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

14 hours. Most people sleep for 8 hours a day leaving them 16 hours to do stuff in. The 14 hours I spent in my seat was a very long 14 hours. I don’t want to come off as too winey, the service from air New Zealand was great, and everyone had a miniature television in the back of the seat ahead of them with tons of music and movies, but I could have done without the 4 babies on the plane. I’m sure it would have been far less enjoyable had there been a person in the seat next to me, so I used the allotted ¾ of an inch armrest on BOTH side of my chair! Sleep was a little elusive, but I did catch a few winks.

Plane ride aside, the airport was a breeze, customs, baggage claim (where the bio-contamination sniffing beagle searched our bags), and out the front door to the bus straight to the hostel. Since we landed at 5:20am local I got to the hostel at around 7am, early bird gets the worm right? WRONG! The lounge and café service start operation at 6, but nothing else does. The Job Placement Centre opens up at 9 and check in starts at noon. So being the intelligent traveler I am, I stowed my 358 pound back pack (slight exaggeration) surfed the net for a bit (at about $2.50 an hour) and went to the job centre as soon as it opened, only problem is that I need to be checked in to use the service!

All that fun aside I went to get a bare bones cell phone (known exclusively as a mobile) and found the perfect one! Now I’m not going to pretend that I was able to pick it up without a hitch because so far that hasn’t been the case with anything, why would it here? I was turned away from the store because they didn’t have that that model in, I was assured that one would be in when they got their next shipment of stuff in at NOON. Not like I have anything to do then.

Intermission in which I run around the inside of the hostel from desk to desk and from store to post office to bank each located in a complete different direction 3-5 blocks from the hostel.

Ok so the IRD forms have been sent away and I should receive my very own tax number in around 5 days. The bank account couldn’t be opened today because apparently anything more complicated that depositing a cheque or withdrawing funds is something that isn’t done here after 2pm. So tomorrow I’ll have the numbers required to wire my Canadian funds over, and my debit card should be ready right around the time the transfer process has cleared.

I picked up a cheap phone (a Nokia 1202 with selling points such as longer battery life because it’s a black and white LCD, an alarm clock, a flashlight, and a price tag of about $42 Canadian) too with a $20 SIM card from 2degrees. They are a new carrier with cheaper rates than the other 2 big companies, but apparently they aren’t the best for coverage in the less densely populated areas. Even that’s not a problem for a savvy backpacker such as myself because I was given a $5 Vodafone SIM card as part of my work package. It’s a completely different number, but if I find myself with no reception and a problem, I may be able to make a call anyway!

The weather here isn’t what fall should be, the radio hosts are complaining about the poor weather because it’s only 20 degrees out and it’s marginally overcast. BOOHOO! Having said that, I’m starting to regret some of my packing decisions, a pair of shorts would have been an exceptional idea and the long underwear and wool work shirt are nothing but bulky dead weight until I see a drastic change in the climate (or until I get to the middle of the south island). Live and learn eh?

The hostel is a pretty nice set up, clean washrooms, half decent looking beds, nice lounge, a balcony bar on the 6th floor, and a club on the ground floor. The staff is friendly and helpful but they play the music a little loud in the lounge and there are a lot of backpackers (20-40 most of the time) here with some loud conversations (only a few of them in English). That will probably be less of a problem when I’ve shaken off the jet lag.

I am a little disappointed that, from the window I am looking out now, I can see a McDonalds and a burger king, with a Subway and another McDicks no more that 5 blocks away on the same street. I wasn’t even going to mention it, but the very first store I saw after getting past the duty free at the airport was a McNasty, kind of depressing when you think about it. I’m not sure if they actually have free WIFI in them, but if it turns out they do, I may have to bite the bullet and buy my watered down Coca Cola and try not to breathe through my nose.

I’ve been a little too busy to snap pictures, but I plan to do that for the majority of the day tomorrow so there should be a few choice ones up then.

That’s it for now, talk at you later.


Advertisement



20th April 2010

Hi
Hi Eric, I envy you the 20 degrees!~ I miss Mexico with its lovely 30 degrees! I can't seem to warm up here in Bamfield. The sun has come out this afternoon so I think we will take the dogs to the beach for a run. Sounds like you are getting yourself all set up. You must have done some research to find out what was needed to find a job. Good for you! I'm waiting for the pictures! Love, LaRae
22nd April 2010

Sounds like you have been busy! Never a dull moment. cheers Leslie
22nd April 2010

Very Interesting
We enjoyed reading the summary of your first few hours enroute to and in a different country. It sounds like you have mastered many new skills in information gathering. Enjoy the nice fall weather. It's been wet here but it feels like spring. Keep up the great reports of your adventures. Now we will try to tap into yoyur previous entry with pictures. Good Luck and enjoy!

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb