Auckland, New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland » Central
May 5th 2009
Published: May 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Auckland 003Auckland 003Auckland 003

This is an advertisement for a comedy show. I love inappropriate humor!
Today we took the ferry from Devenport across the bay to Auckland. From there on out we used the bus and our feet to get where we needed to go. We shopped all day and must have ended up walking for at least 6 hours!! We loved Victoria Park Market, which had a bunch of unique shops really close together. We also visited Mount Eden, which is an extinct volcano. There are paths to climb it, including a road and walking trails. I figured out later WHY there were walking paths. They were designed to help you gradually climb the volcano, as otherwise it would be tiring and dangerous to climb it straight up due to how steep it is. Well I wanted to climb the volcano (really CLIMB it…not walk it) so mom and I separated and she continued walking up the road that our walking path ran into and I started climbing. It was incredibly steep…my pictures couldn’t get that across very well. It felt like I was climbing a vertical wall of soft dirt and thick, long grass. I used the grass to hold me up as I climbed. When I reached the top, I was covered in dirt and grass, wearing my dressy pants (my jeans were still wet from the ocean the other day), and I must have looked crazed because I sprung over the top of the volcano edge and just as I reached it, a bus with a bunch of East-Asian tourists went by, all pointing at me like I just escaped from a psych ward. 😉

Anyway, it was fun. At the top you can walk around the old crater but there are signs everywhere requesting people not to go into the crater as it is fragile and sacred. Hopefully I didn’t offend anybody by scaling the volcano. But there were some guys that got there before us who were climbing down into it and being obnoxious (they were also East-Asian, although not from the bus that went by me). Mom started freaking out about how they are not supposed to do that. I totally agreed with her, but I don’t like confrontation so I walked around the crater to the other side! Haha! But she was yelling and telling the guys’ friends that they are not supposed to do that, and they helped her yell at the guys and everything, but they stayed down there. So then my mom whips out her cell phone, says she’s going to call the police, walks towards me, winks, and then pretends to have a conversation with the Auckland police about the guys in the crater. It was hilarious. Then she kind of rubbed off of me and I said, “I should take their picture” and my mom said, “yeah and we can take it to the police” (wink, wink). So as the guys climbed out of the crater I took pictures of their shocked faces and said, “Smile, assholes!” and we turned around and left.

Ashley


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Auckland 004Auckland 004
Auckland 004

this dog was carrying a tree in the park!
Auckland 006Auckland 006
Auckland 006

mom trying to orient us...this could take a while ;)
This is for you, Katie!This is for you, Katie!
This is for you, Katie!

haha we just can't get away from them, Katie!
climbing the volcanoclimbing the volcano
climbing the volcano

it was hard to take a picture from here...
climbing the volcanoclimbing the volcano
climbing the volcano

view of Auckland
a fig treea fig tree
a fig tree

isn't this the coolest tree ever???


7th May 2009

hi
2 things: 1. i hope you went to see the show associated w/ those ads! 2. that fig tree is awesome.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb