New Caledonia


Advertisement
New Caledonia's flag
Oceania » New Caledonia » South Province » Noumea
September 11th 2007
Published: October 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

As you can see in the summer of 2007 I went to New Caledonia. The flight to Noumea was very long. It took me 30 hours of flying to get to Noumea. I had a flight Ljubljana-Paris-Tokyo-Noumea with Air France. If you come from EU, you don’t need any visa requirements. Well in Noumea I was staying at the YHA. I really recommend this hostel. It is actually the only hostel in New Caledonia. It is save, clean and full of travelers. It is located in the centre of Noumea, on the hill, with a great view of Noumea. Well I stayed there for 5 nights. During these 5 nights I made a plan for Noumea (what to see, where to go etc.). I was surprised by the knowledge of English language in Noumea. Not a lot of people speak English. So if you are planning to go to New Caledonia take a course or two of French. Well Noumea is a modern capital; the best thing to get around is by local buses. If you are looking for a beach, the closest two beaches are Bai des citrons and Anse vata. It takes you 15 minutes with a bus (it think it was number one; green line) to get there. And from Anse vata you can take a taxi boat for two islands, which are: Ile aux Canards (900 CFP; 10 minutes to get there) and Vers L’ilot Maitre (1800 CFP; 30 minutes). It is definitely a must to see this two islands. There is another beach called Anse Kuendu, which is on the island called Ile Nou Nouville, but I can’t give you any info about this beach, because I didn’t have a time to get there. But people say it is very nice. The next think I recommend to see in Noumea is the Tjibaou Cultural Centre (Centre culturel Tjibaou). It is about the Kanak culture. Kanak people are the local people of New Caledonia. If you are a student the entrance is for free (actually this was the only thing for me, which was for free in New Caledonia).
Well the life standard in New Calednoia is very high. That’s why, if you are European, you will find it quite expensive. For instance, a bottle of water is 2 EUR, a pack of cigarettes is 7 EUR,… So prepare yourself and your budget for high prices.
The next destination for me was Isle of Pines (L’ile des Pins), but I’m gonna write about it in my next entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0519s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb