Bora Bora


Advertisement
French Polynesia's flag
Oceania » French Polynesia » Bora Bora
October 3rd 2018
Published: November 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

In things I didn't know, after the bombing of Pearl Harbor, the US established a military base here during WWII. It didn't see much conflict, but apparently the returning troups (as well as a number that decided to stay permanently) were the start of the island's tourist boom. On all of the other islands I visited, local folks were fairly negative talking about Bora Bora - the ridiculous prices, volume of resorts/tourists, and somewhat less than pristine condition of the main island. These were all true, but it is still absolutely beautiful. For all of the reasons above, particularly price, I only stayed for two nights. Naturally, I assume because of this decision, it rained the full day I was there - fortunately the few hours I had on my arrival/departure dates were a bit better, and regardless, it is stunning just about any direction you look.


Additional photos below
Photos: 36, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb