Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji
January 29th 2010
Published: January 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I will try my best to make these blogs a regular occurence, but as i am not sure what i'l be doing some of the time, and how much access to the internet i will have, i cannot promise anything!
Well, I'm now half way through my first leg of my adventure! Fiji has been amazing so far. It has been incredibly hot, sunny and unbelievably laid back.
The flight over was long, and being stuck next to two noisy kids from london to LA, wasnt exactally my ideal start to the trip. However the time in LA soon went (even though there is absloutly nothing to do in LAX) and I was back on the plane down to Nadi! managed to get some shut eye on this flight, so when I got to the hotel at 6 a.m and there was no bed, i was able to last most of the day till i fell asleep. On that first day, i managed to plan the rest of my stay in fiji, by travelling round three of the islands. The plan was 4 nights on Mana island, 2 nights on Beachcomber, 4 nights on Robinson crusoe and then one night back in Nadi before I flew out to NZ. Well that was the plan!
My first stop was Mana, where I met a group of 5 people all doing 4 nights on the island. The first night was cava night, where i got my first taste of the traditional drink. It was absolutly disgusting to drink, but very difficult to refuse when its being passed round the group! The food on the island is alright, not a lot of variety each day, but all together edible! the dorms are so hot, and the first night it was tricky to sleep, but you soon get acclimitised to it.
Second night was cross-dressing night, which i didnt expect to be doing on my third night in Fiji! most of the people in the resort got involved though, and turned into a pretty good evening, with a game of limbo being the finale! during the days there are activities to do, but they all came at a cost, so i only managed to do kayaking, and a small but of snorkelling! The third night was the island night, where we had an exibition of fire dancing and traditional dance, which lead to us all learning the BULA dance!
Sorry this has been a bit brief, but i am on a rush against time with credit for the interent! more blogs and pictures will follow! (also sorry for any spelling mistakes,


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb