Nanuya Lailai


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Yasawa Islands » Nanuya Island
September 28th 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I hate early starts! 7.15am pick up, 8.30 on the big yellow boat and guess what? Yeap, I got eaten alive by mosquitoes last night! You think I’d learn. Every time I arrive in a hot country, first night out I get savaged. 9 bites this time, so off to the shop for after bite cream and a beach towel (I left mine in Oz). Then all aboard the big yellow boat. I decided on 3 islands and the first one Nanuya Lailai is 5 hours from Nadi. Well probably about 3 hours but we had to drop people off en route. So I had 5 hours of sunbathing, okay it turned out to be burning rather than sunbathing. I did have cream on, just not properly. Then a little boat pulled up along side (Mum, you’d have loved it!!!) and it was a rocky 20minutes to the shore. Then “Bula”. And welcome home the guy said, I later find out why. The resort, Sunrise, which only holds about 30 people, is like a family. The host a guy named “Queen” I’ll let you make your own conclusions from that, but if any of you have sent the 80’s film Mannequin, he was just like Hollywood Montrose…..hilarious. So the next 2 days consisted of eating meals at set times, when the bell rings (like at school), no electricity during the day and beaches and views straight from paradise. Now the first part may sound horrendous, but everyone is so friendly and the scenery out of this world you just go with the flow.

On the 2nd day four of us decided to head around to the other side of the island to the “posh” resort as it was less windy round there. After a couple of hours in the sun we decided to hit the bar, before we knew it, it was 6pm and getting dark, our only option home was the water taxi. Well to say the sea was rough would be an understatement. If I was sober I’d have been terrified. It was that bad that the taxi dropped us off 5minutes from where we were staying because the sea in front of or place was too rough. So we had to walk along the beach in the dark, it was hilarious and when we got back the bell had already run for dinner and everyone had almost finished their starters. Ooops!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Nanuya Lailai Nanuya Lailai
Nanuya Lailai

Don't think think it just looks like a scene from Lost


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb