Fi in Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Suva
July 28th 2006
Published: July 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

So this is Fiji...not a bad place to stop for a few months. I'm in week 3 now and really enjoying myself. I've met lots of people at Homestay, where I'm living, mostly kiwis which is a worry, but they're lovely all the same :-)

I won't write much here, because I've put descriptions in the pictures. But basically I've been keeping busy, when I'm not at work I'm out having dinner or drinks somewhere and weekends I try to get out of Suva, which makes coming back to work more bearable.


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

View from my balconyView from my balcony
View from my balcony

I'm in my new room now and it has a lovely balcony and view.
My new room @ HomestayMy new room @ Homestay
My new room @ Homestay

It's very comfortable, with a lil kitchen & great balcony.
Homestay roomHomestay room
Homestay room

My balcony...perfect for relaxing after work with a glass of wine :-)
Fijian Cultural Village river tourFijian Cultural Village river tour
Fijian Cultural Village river tour

A friend from Homestay, Jane, and I spent a weekend at a backpackers near the beach. The accomodation was part of a cultural village complex. It gave an insight to olden day Fiji.
Priest of the villagePriest of the village
Priest of the village

During the river tour we saw different aspects of what village life would be like. This was the priest, identified by the big mother of pearl necklace...i was a bit jealous of it!
Fijian DancersFijian Dancers
Fijian Dancers

They were very engergic, good fun to watch.
Fijian dancers at the cultural village showFijian dancers at the cultural village show
Fijian dancers at the cultural village show

The cultural show was really fun, they had firewalkers, dancers and just general 'life' in a village. At one point the village boys were going to have a competition of who could open cococuts the quickest. They decided the prize would be Jane and I and were making a few gestures about 'coconuts'...hmmm...questionable behaviour. I looked around the crowd at this point and realised we were the only young girls there, prime target for their attention obviously.
Firewalkers preparing the stonesFirewalkers preparing the stones
Firewalkers preparing the stones

As part of their many rituals they had to prepare the stones by turning and poking and stuff
FirewalkersFirewalkers
Firewalkers

They had a whole ritual around the firewalking (including no female contact for 2 weeks before walking!). They had the fire built, then placed the rocks on the hot coals and heated them, then turned them, and bunch of other rituals.
Chiefs HouseChiefs House
Chiefs House

The village was all man made for tourists, but it was fun seeing what things used to look like. This was the Chiefs house.
Morning walk on the beachMorning walk on the beach
Morning walk on the beach

This is my kiwi friend Jane. She's staying in the apt above mine at Homestay.
Lovely blue skyLovely blue sky
Lovely blue sky

We had the beach all to ourselves on our walk and it was lovely. But looks can be deceiving, standing the one spot this is the view I had when facing South, but if I turned around....
Not so picture perfectNot so picture perfect
Not so picture perfect

Looks can be deceiving! Makes you wonder about all those glossy advertisements you see...maybe they just happenend to be facing the right way. I've gotten used to overcast days, Suva gets a lot of rain, so although it might be warm it isn't always clear blue skies unfortunately.
Pacific HarbourPacific Harbour
Pacific Harbour

I'm guessing this is why they have named the area 'Pacific Harbour', cause there wasn't much else that looked like a harbour! This was where I got the boat to go diving a few weeks ago. Our accomodation was about 15 minutes up the road, we passed this on our morning walk.
Tsulu backpackersTsulu backpackers
Tsulu backpackers

This is around the grounds of the backbackers and cultural village. It was really pretty and they did really well in making things look 'authentic'.
Luxury backpackersLuxury backpackers
Luxury backpackers

I never knew there was such a thing as luxury backpackers, but apparently there is!
LilliesLillies
Lillies

It was just pretty...had to take a photo
Waterfall roomWaterfall room
Waterfall room

Our room was in a an apartment called Waterfall. There were about 4-5 rooms in each apartment which shared a common lounge area, bathroom & kitchen. We had bunks in our room and could lock it when we left. Pretty good set-up for a cheap option.
Waterfall motivesWaterfall motives
Waterfall motives

All the walls in our room & the common areas were painted in various waterfalls. It was kinda cool, gave it a bit of life.
Waterfall loungeroomWaterfall loungeroom
Waterfall loungeroom

I saw the apartment next to ours was called 'Sunset' so I'm guessing they had sunset's all through the rooms.
The pool @ Tsulu backpackersThe pool @ Tsulu backpackers
The pool @ Tsulu backpackers

This was such a cool pool, it actually had sand all around it. There was a hot tub up the back and a pool bar and had top 40 music playing the whole time. At night they lit lanterns around the pool. I really like it :-)


31st July 2006

How can I get your job!!
Photos look great, you win, beats the island of Cyprus any day. Enjoy. Love Mum
2nd August 2006

Too Good
I want your job too!!!! It looks and sounds awesome, I'd love to be snorkelling off the beach in that clear blue water. (I need a holiday). Hope your not missing Canberra's winter! cheers Jeanette
31st May 2007

homestay question!
Hi! yYour homestay looked great. do you haev any inoformaation about that place? would love to do the same when i go in July. thanks heaps, please reply to jaclynlb@hotmail.com thanks! Jaci

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0581s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb