Nananu-I-ra, off the N. coast of Vitu Levu, Fiji


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nananu I Ra
December 14th 2012
Published: December 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Fiji after a ten and half hour flight from LA. Was so glad to leave LA all the hustle and bustle, traffic and noise. Once i had collected my baggage was we left there was a Fijian band singing on our arrival at 5.30am that's dedication for you. The bus ride to Rakiraki took three long hours, it was boling hot very humid and the bus was full. I then had to take a taxi to Ellingham wharf where the boat came across to meet me. so a further twenty minutes on a boat. It took longer because we had to get a wardrobe on a a very small boat and the wardrobe didn't quite fit so we had to put it in at a bit of an angle. So when we eventually arrived at the island I was hoping it would be exactly what I wanted. I wasn't disappointed. The sand was white, the sea was clear and warm, the sun was shining, there was a breeze in the palm trees and not a soul on the beach in either direction. HEAVEN. I chose to go to an island rather than a resort as I wanted to see the real Fiji and I did. I stayed I what they called a bure, which was a wooden hut suitably equipped with a bed, dressing table and bedside table. Shower sand toilet were a few steps away. Outside was a large covered patio where you could sit and read in the shade, a kitchen and an area to eat. During my stay I read three books, walked, swam and enjoyed long chats with the people on the island. There were kayaks and snorkelling equipment available but heh it doesn't take long to get into Fiji time, a pace that's slow and very relaxed. The island was beautiful totally unspoilt, a few very expensive looking houses skirted one beach but most of them were for sale and Martine a lady that I met there said life on the island can be quite transient. There isn't anything to do there really and even I though I would get bored but it didn't happen. The ten days soon passed and before long it was time to head back to Nadi where I spent one night before flying to Auckland. The hotel I stayed at had a function and after my meal I listed to renditions of John Lennon, The Eagles and Eric Clapton Fijian style, great fun. Got chatting to a German guy who had a yacht but lived in Australia most of the time. The intricacies of life!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb