Fiji - Pacific Islands


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
February 4th 2015
Published: February 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Bula, were in Fiji, let me just repeat myself again, were in FIJI !!! Bula means Hello. Well it was touch and go whether we got here or not. Believe it or not this was a groupon deal and we all know what groupon can be like, but the deal was too good to turn down. So we booked it, but there was one snag, the transfer time was really pushing it, so Stu spent most of yesterday on the phone to the airlines, to see if we could perhaps stay overnight in Sydney and other options, but alas not to be, they only gave us 30 minutes max to get from one terminal to the international one as well as picking up our cases. Now Sydney is big, too big for the transfer we needed, so we decided to just go with hand luggage, we take too much as it is and how much do you need ? So up at 3.30 am to get to the airport for 5.00am, Brian kindly took us, this seems to be a habit for him. We checked in to find that we could have taken cases as they automatically transfer. We were given false info, but not to worry, we didn't care we were on our way to Fiji. Well plane arrived into Sydney a bit late, took 1 hour and 10 mins from Melbourne, Stu was looking like he was going to collapse, we had to run to the gate, wait for a transfer bus to international, then run like 'merry hell' and believe me, we looked like crazy lunatic people ! We were both headless chickens ( he's making me like it), running from one counter to another and just as we found check in, the lady said she was one minute to closing. Oh my, thought my heart was going to give out, I thought I was quite fit, well I have news for myself, I'm not !! Stu's head looked like it was going to explode off him. We then had to go through passport control and then through security and get this, I had to go through the body scanner and in the computer the man told me to wait, his words ' you have an alarm in you're left knee', Eh news to me, but sure enough in the scanner picture of my body there was a lighted box showing on my left knee. Now bearing in mind, I'm in shorts, there is no scarring on my left knee ! so I said 'excuse me', he said 'don't worry,' and called a girl over with her swoosh swoosh thingy and said she's ok. Well actually I kinda thought, this is not ok, may be a serious thing here, but we were on a mission to get to Fiji, so didn't have time for my alarmed knee !! I looked for Stu as I lost him somewhere at passport control and saw he was taken off to do the explosive test, you know my favourite !! Well couldn't believewe made that plane, as we never had half an hour in the end, just 20 minutes.

So plane journey to Fiji was 4 hours from Sydney, we have travelled some miles this week. Arrived in Fiji to a lovely warm welcome with some Fiji guys playing guitar and singing. Oh my, thought I am in paradise. So with this groupon thing, we didn't have a transfer, so spoke to airport staff, and they gave us a couple of options, so we said we would take the local bus which would take 2 hours, but we were happy with that because we could see the island and be with the locals and it was cheap as chips !! Well a plush air conditioned bus with a big screen showing a movie on it turned up, we were disappointed, we wanted a real island bus, still we had a good journey and the locals were very friendly and polite and smiley. Arrived at our resort to a welcome drink and more smiles and were shown to our bungelow situated right at the beach. You just cannot ask for anything more, it's PERFECT.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



4th February 2015

Bula!!
Keep the Brady Blog coming,I am loving it. It is amusing,informative and love seeing the photos,so please we want loads,especially of Figi it looks like paradise. Hope you two can just chill for a few days. Love Dolly.x
4th February 2015

Wow it's looks amazing! It was definitely worth all that rushing around. Really great reading karol like how you throw in EVERY detail. Look forward to reading your next installment! Xx
5th February 2015

Hi d
Glad you're enjoying blog, I feel like a 'writer', might be a better job than listening to windgey people !!
5th February 2015

Fiji
Hi Stu and Karol, You made it. Thank goodness, wouldn't want to miss all that would you. Have a lovely week. x
5th February 2015

Fiji
Hi Dorothy, glad you have the blog, sat in reception to blog now, can't do it in the room, Internet doesn't get to that point.

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb