The Reunion


Advertisement
Fiji's flag
Oceania » Fiji » Nadi
May 22nd 2011
Published: May 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello! Or Bula as they say a lot in Fiji. How are we all? Hope everybody is well. Apologies for the fairly massive gap between blogs. I'd planned to do one earlier but I've spent the last 6 days on a tropical Fijian island that only had electricity and water occasionally. So internet was definitely out of the question.

As you may have gathered from the title I'm pleased to report that me and Chris's attempt to meet up again was a success. As the time drew nearer I think we both started to think that meeting up in the middle of the Pacific Ocean was a fairly ambitious plan for two travellers who have suffered from their fair share of bad luck. But it all passed off without a hitch and we were able to have a truly emotional reunion. Like a film it was. Not a film that anybody would watch, but still...

On our first morning together we sorted our whole week out, paying for 6 nights on Mana island and headed out there almost immediately. What followed has been just a really tough week. It's been really hard to find time to unwind and we've both been pretty stressed about our vast array of problems that are occupying out lives at the moment.

For anybody unfamiliar with the art of sarcasm none of the above is true. The only time we interrupted our 'lying on the beach doing nothing' was one afternoon when we commandeered a vessel (hired a kayak) to loop around the whole island and that was much too much like hard work.

Of course last time I wrote to you I was only halfway through my New Zealand trip and still had two weeks to go there, so I'll try to stretch my memory back that far and tell you what I got up to whilst I was there.

I think the first major port of call was the Franz Josef glacier which was really amazing to behold. I've not come across too many glaciers in my time, surprisingly, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. It definitely takes your breath away the first time you glimpse it. I couldn't afford the ice activities that are the main tourist attractions of the area so instead I walked up a nearby mountain to get some amazing views of the glacier instead. Well, they would have been amazing if the clouds hadn't been blocking the view and it hadn't rained the whole way.

The next stop was Wanaka for a night where I got to do a slightly drier walk up the local hill, Mt. Iron. This offered some jaw dropping views of the surrounding area in every direction you cared to look. I spent the whole time wondering why all the locals didn't seem as amazed by their surroundings as I was.

From Wanaka it was a quick blast down the road to Queenstown, where I stayed for 6 nights. I absolutely loved it. It's set in a ridiculously good spot, with lots of surrounding mountains, Lake Wakatipu and the Remarkable's ski mountain range providing the backdrop.

Whilst there I went out a few times with some good friends that I made on the bus, ate the 'Big Al' at the infamous 'Fergburger', walked up a couple of mountains, had a much needed hair cut and completed my holy trinity of New Zealand adrenaline activities by doing a canyon swing. Upside down and backwards, as it just wasn't scary enough to do it normally.

I also went on a day trip to Milford Sound. I think that the best thing I can say about it is that somehow it manages, not only to live up to the massive hype that it gets throughout all of New Zealand, but to exceed it. It's the sort of place that even a blind man with no photographic experience could capture an award winning photo. Just pick any direction to point your camera in and shoot away.

Despite the epic drive to get there it successfully managed to provide the icing on the cake of both New Zealand's scenery and my trip to this amazing country. I honestly couldn't recommend a visit highly enough, especially if nice scenery is your thing.

So, back to now. We're in Nadi at the moment waiting for our flight to LA later tonight. If you want to give your brains a puzzle then you should know that as we will cross the international date line during this 10 hour flight we will arrive in LA long before we leave Nadi... Confusing I know.

We have 13 hours in LA and then it is onwards for another long flight to San Jose in Costa Rica, which signals the beginning of the last leg of our trip, 7 weeks travelling North through Central America to eventually end up in Mexico City. Pretty exciting.

I'll leave it at that then, I think I've gone on for long enough. Well done if you read it all. I hope everything is OK where you are. Speak soon.

Si

X

P.S. Chris hasn't done anything foolish yet, I'll keep my eyes peeled though!

Advertisement



22nd May 2011

hello simon. new zealand sounds amazing. better than austrailia? all those fabulous treks! i'm really envious. how many photos have you taken?!! hope you remember where they all are! good to know the troublesome two are back in buisness! look after each other and enjoy the last leg of your trip. might be slightly different different culture and ways of doing things there compared to very laid back and accomodating asia. take care of each other and stay alert! love to both jackie xx
22nd May 2011

.... beach bums!
Hey Si, what a great way to spend a week we did have visions of you flaked out on a beach following your last two months trekking. Happy to hear that the reunion went to plan and that all is good with Chris. I am sure you have both had many a tall story to tell one another but its good to know that you are back together for the last exciting leg of you trip - how are you both going to cope coming home to Powys in a couple of months? Anyway have a fab time both and take heed of all the good advice being offered. Stay safe. Miss you lots! Love n hugs. Mum
29th May 2011

Hi Si sorry for not replying to your fantastic blogs, both you and Chris have done and seen some truly wonderful things. You know that I would have to be tranquilized just to get on the plane! I would have to be already dead to jump, sorry be pushed! I cannot really imagine how terrifying a fall of 16500 ft would be! As for the utter stupidity of the things called bungy jumping and canyon swinging! well no amount of money could cross my palms to make them happen! So I am not going to pretend to be jealous of those idiotic types of activity, but the rest sounds just brilliant and such experiences. I know we will have to await your pictures and they will inevitably struggle to capture the sights but your words really evoke the atmosphere and the excitement . Keep up the brilliant blogs, you and Chris stay safe.
2nd June 2011

Great read
Hi there Si, we really enjoyed the latest chapter of your adventure. You certainly have packed the thrills into your four weeks in NZ, it seems to be such an amazing place. Shame about the first evening though but you seem to have weathered that ok. So pleased you and Chris were successfully able to keep to the planned rendezvous. Fiji seems to have fulfilled the role as an ideal place for a bit of R&R. So its onward into the homeward leg which I am sure will be very different from the earlier legs, very different cultures in that part of the world. So have a great time take care, we are all looking forward to your safe return in mid July.. N&G x

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb