Rarotonga - whales! (which I don't have good pictures of)


Advertisement
Cook Islands' flag
Oceania » Cook Islands » Rarotonga
September 2nd 2018
Published: September 22nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Rarotonga is the first stop of my 10 island South Pacific travels - woohoo! I only stopped for a day or two, on each end of a longer stay in Aitutaki, but it's a beautiful island. There are lots of green mountain peaks, the most known is called The Needle, and a coral lagoon around the island with postcard pretty blue water. As far as I can tell, this is primarily a huge holiday destination for people from New Zealand - it's a small island, but lots of focus on tourists and tourist activities. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great either of the days I was here although I did have one beautiful sunny morning. Fortunately it's whale season in the South Pacific (similar to Hawaii, they spend a portion of the year here to give birth, although these whales spend the rest of the year near the South Pole) - I was lucky enough to see quite a few at various points, some were even nice enough to swim by at happy hour both nights I was there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0271s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb