Goodbye Uluru, Hello Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
September 15th 2014
Published: September 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

September 15 – Judy and Mal took a tour of the area this morning while David and I went to Uluru for a hike. Up close, it was a fascinating place with several caves that were once used by the indigenous people. The trail ended at a sheer cliff face that went up hundreds of feet. In the rainy season, water would fall over this cliff face.







After returning to the hotel, we had a dip in the pool. As the pool is heated by the blazing sun, it was quite warm (not like our cool Alberta pools) so it was just right for me – my sons would have hated it.







September 16 – David, Judy and Mal rose early to watch the sun rise over Uluru. Having seen the sun rise on camel back, I decided to enjoy a longer sleep this morning, something that one does not get much of during a “trip” versus a “vacation”.







We indulged in our last generous breakfast at the hotel and headed for the airport. The trip to Sydney from Uluru was much shorter than the one up to Darwin, and we were given exit row seats. At the airport, we were again picked up by Jack’s Mini Bus and driven to the Harbour Bed & Breakfast. Saying goodbye to Mal and Judy was bitter sweet. We have so enjoyed exploring Australia with them. They will be dearly missed … until the next time …







Our B&B was in the district known as “The Rocks”, one of the oldest districts in Sydney. There was an archeological dig taking place (The “Big Dig”) in the foundation of the building next to us.







We had a small room at the B&B with a separate water closet and shower/bath tub down the hall. On the first evening, I stepped out to use the facilities and came back to find the room locked. I knocked, jiggled the lock, called David’s name, but there was no response, so I tried again, and again – a little louder each time. But, still no response. And, now I could hear David snoring. I’m starting to think I might have to go downstairs and ask to be let into my room. And, then I look down and see quite a large gap at the bottom of the door, so I get down on my hands and knees and call, “David!” Success. He lets me in. (It’s nice to know that he does come when called.)

Advertisement



21st September 2014

Australia
Have really enjoyed your stories of "Down Under!" We were there last year and plan on going back, so it has been great reading about your adventures there. Thanks!
21st September 2014

Thank you
Hi David, So nice to have you along for our journey! I hope you enjoy the rest of it. Michele
21st September 2014
Hello Sydney

Sydney
Very nice photo

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb