Aussies, Tassies, and Budgie Smugglers


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
March 1st 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Martin and Jane must have really opened up my heart, because I hit the jackpot in Sydney as far as making friends was concerned. I will never forget going for a run along the Sydney harbor and waterfront with Miguel. Or visiting the Blue Mountains with Phillip and half running, mostly laughing our way through a hail storm that caught us by surprise! Or an evening at Bondi Beach and a fancy schmancy, no resemblance of a backpackers meal, with John Paull. I thought this fortunate stream had broken when I left for Melbourne, but really it was just a run in with a sketchy hostel which made it harder for this gal to get her footing in a new city. So, I gave couch surfing a try and Leslie reached out to me when I needed a place to stay and a time out.

Couchsurfing is not only about accommodation. It's a process and a worldwide forum for bringing people together, building meaningful connections, and creating a global community. I had an engaging experience and found friends through couch surfing that I would never have had the chance to meet otherwise. And I hope to pay it forward now that I am home in Denver.

From Melbourne I flew to Hobart, Tasmania where I was also able to stay with a couch surfing host, Dana and her parents. The benefit of staying at someone's home is the local knowledge and insight they offer. For instance, Leslie taught me what a budgie smuggler is--ever wonder if people, men in particular, are fashionable enough to wear speedos in other countries? Well, they do, and in Australia the endearing term is referred to as a "budgie smuggler." A budgie is a small Aussie bird, so men who wear this small bathing attire appear to be smuggling a budgie! I had many 'outings' as my Dad would say---both in Hobart and further north in Launceston before flying from Tasmania to Cairns, Australia. When in Australia, one ought to visit one of the eight wonders of the world, the GREAT Barrier Reef.

The sense of accomplishment that ensues from overcoming a fear is unlike any other. I will never forget that feeling of panic as I dove under the water. I will never forget my scuba instructor as he took my hand and looked me in the eye 10 feet underwater, which had an incredibly calming effect on me, allowing my breathing to slow back to normal and a trust to develop between us. Ah, deep breaths! We went down another ten feet, and then another, pausing at each level to equalize our ears. Well, that was fun, but I couldn't help but feel a sense of relief when our 15 minutes was up and oh darn, we had to get back up to the surface. I was not planning on signing myself up for a second dive, but my instructor, Petra and Kyle all encouraged and decided otherwise, in the end. I was just as nervous this time, sitting on the edge of the boat, flippers dangling in the water, the weight of the tank and weight belt heavy on my torso. The one good thing about being so nervous was getting a private trip underwater. Because Pat took me down with him, he showed me a sting ray that I never would have found hiding in a cave entrance, and gave me coral to feed the sea turtle, which kept him near enough to reach out and touch. AMAZING! This time everything clicked for me and I was beaming from having gotten a glimpse of this fragile and ever beautiful ecosystem.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb