A Further Prophecy


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
February 24th 2006
Saved: June 2nd 2021
Edit Blog Post

The flickering flame from a multitude of candles cast distorted shadows on the walls and drooping gossamer curtains, as the aroma of burning incense wafted around me, "So, you are returning to India?" rasped the aged soothsayer.
"Indeed, I am," came my reply "Are you able to foretell my journey?"
"Of course," she rejoined, whilst casting an eye over the tea leaves in a porcelain cup.
She murmured to herself before continuing... "I see you visiting many religious places - the colourful Hindu temples of Madurai, the Sun Temple in Konark and the pilgrimage place of Haridwar. You will also visit the Golden Temple in Amritsar - the most holy of Sikh sites, and an exorcism temple."
"Another exorcism temple," I uttered, "most intriguing."

My thoughts again returned to the aged lady as she resumed her prophecy, "The south of India will hold more than just temples - you will sight many temple elephants, you will enjoy the distinctive South Indian cuisine and partake in cooking lessons. You will glide along the quiet backwaters of Kerala in wooden boats powered only by bamboo poles."

"The North will see you revisit friends from your first journey - in Delhi and Ranchi, witness a checkpoint closing ceremony at the Pakistani border, and again travel on many trains. I also detect more cricket is on offer when you arrive in Bangladesh..." her laboured breathing forcing a halt to her words. This does promise to be another exciting time. I again thanked the Soothsayer for her sage advice, and crouched under the low doorway to the outside world.

Once away from the soothsayers lair, I paused - my mind consumed by many thoughts. Why do I travel alone and willingly visit a country of a billion strangers - which is home to a culture I love, but has aspects of their society I regard with disdain. I will subject myself to constant attention from all peoples, many who wish to converse on a plethora of topics with a foreigner, but also those who wish to sell trinkets I have no use for, or an autorickshaw ride I do not want. The noise, smell, dust, poverty and beggars are confronting. Though there is much to challenge, the rewards are greater, for India has an energy, vibrancy and colour unsurpassed but any other culture, and is home to a people whose friendliness, warmth and love knows no bounds. India is like an opiate that either embraces or repels.

Travelling to such lands always is accompanied by a degree of apprehension prior to the journey - but it always vanishes upon arrival - the excitement of every moment, the adventure of every day, the memories of every week that linger long after. India is indeed a country full of adventures and memories, and has mesmerised me like no other.

I place one foot forward - another journey has begun...



COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

25th February 2006

Looking forward
Shane. Great to see you are off again. I am looking forward to sharing this new adventure with you. Gary

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0207s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb