About to Leave


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia
April 28th 2007
Published: April 28th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The compulsive urge to travel is a recognised physical condition. It even has its own word, dromomania, it seems that everyone in my family suffers from this condition. The inheret ambition of most dromomaniac's is an essential journey across the planet, but its a less fashionale journey now, part of the reason is that you can circumnavigate the globe by air in 36 hours. But air travel has ultimately shrink-wraped the world, leaving it small odourless, tidy and far to often out of sight.
I want then not to circumnavigate it, but to notice it. To see it, smell it and touch it at the same time. I am sure, in years to come each time I look at a map and retrace my steps, I will become painfully aware of the countries that I did not visit, whilst being overcome with emotions from those I did. As this the trip I have planned is taking me through an extraordinary sequence of countries. Leaving the somewhat insular Island of Australia to the awesomely energetic economies of the Pacific Rim; Thailand, Cambodia and Hongkong. Across in to China and then India. To Egypt, one of the oldest civilisations on earth. Then to the European empires of Britian and Venice, Greece et al. And finally to America, still the most influential nation in the world.
Anyway I embark on this adventure in less than 12 hours, heading for Thailand.

Advertisement



7th May 2007

Take it easy!
Have a look at you ! Nice work Lukeosmith, am impressed. Won't touch a mobile phone, but a travelblog...look at you go. Which magazine are you writing for??? Great to hear from you and look forward to more updates Smoofy...

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb