A drive through most towns in the southern half of Western Australia.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
August 26th 2017
Published: August 26th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Merredin fuel depotMerredin fuel depotMerredin fuel depot

Sometimes half of the thrill of getting fuel a really long way from anywhere is the chance to talk to someone but these fuel depots are wonderful little things. Usually they're 24 hour sites too.
Magnificent. That's the only word suitable to begin this entry with. Back in February I commenced what will be my final long-distance working trip. Back to traveling for fun after this!! This trip was still great fun though and one of the underlying exciting things is that I have a lot of memories of these places. This particular trip began and finished in Perth I had about a dozen places to visit and the futherest was a favourite place of mine - Madura Pass!! There's absolutely nothing there to attract anyone but it's actually a very important place because it's the point where explorers back in the day were able to get up on to what is called the "Yilgarn Block." Basically those who wish to go from Western Australia to Adelaide by road have to pass through Eucla and Eucla is in the Eucla basin. So, at some point you need to go from 300 metres above sea level to ... sea level. Madura Pass is that point and driving down from the Yilgarn Block is absolutely breathtaking. Due to work it took several days to get there and then I still had to come back!

So, the Great
Exhibit at Coolgardie's railway museumExhibit at Coolgardie's railway museumExhibit at Coolgardie's railway museum

I can't remember what this steam train did. I think it ran on a rescue mission at night or something. Not sure.
Eastern Highway was the first bit of the trip. A 595km drive through numerous towns. I got to fill up at a few fuel depots on the way because there are only a few fuel points were there are staff in some places. I actually got stopped by some trains at level crossings on the way too. A lot of towns have railway museums which include steam trains which is great. Kalgoorlie saw me staying at a hotel which I must admit was a nice change to camping. I had to enjoy it though because it wasn't long before I was out on the Eyre Highway! I love this highway. There's absolutely bugger all out there and sometimes you have it all to yourself. I was out there for a couple of days and then I had to go down to Albany to complete a job down there and enjoy another hotel. Then once I left Albany I was basically weaving through the southwest getting closer and closer to Perth! Perhaps one day I'll do a trip like this again but something tells me it's not going to happen at least for a little while. Not until I do a
Southern Cross Railway StationSouthern Cross Railway StationSouthern Cross Railway Station

Yes - Melbourne has one and this is Western Australia's version!! 300kms from Perth, this is a little shed. That concrete ramp there is for passengers and the station has numerous freights trains pass through. In fact, when I was there doing my work one came and parked up!! It's certainly an experience having a huge freight train come and park next to you.
couple more jobs on the Land Rover, at least.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Kalgoorlie Railway station.Kalgoorlie Railway station.
Kalgoorlie Railway station.

Unfortunately something is blocking the view of most of the station ....
A real bed.A real bed.
A real bed.

After a tent, this is pretty nice.
Whoa.Whoa.
Whoa.

No comment.
A bush track to somewhere.A bush track to somewhere.
A bush track to somewhere.

It's just good to be out of the city!
VegemiteVegemite
Vegemite

Yes. I honestly did. I kept part of the top of the vegemite undisturbed.
Can anyone see the creek crossing?Can anyone see the creek crossing?
Can anyone see the creek crossing?

It was quite interesting on the southern side of this crossing. At least I didn't get bogged.
Madura PassMadura Pass
Madura Pass

Madura Pass service station in all her glory.
Eyre HighwayEyre Highway
Eyre Highway

Nothing beats a drive along the Eyre Highway. Just don't expect it to be quick.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb