Who's so interested in Wittenoom?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
March 16th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hi there...
I haven't been here since long time. Well unfortunately my long travel has ended and I'm back home, so I don't have new additions to travelblog. (BTW a visit to Ireland is planned so don't worry, there will be new posts...)
However, I do visit my statistics page every now and then, amazed to see each time that even when I'm home my blog is alive and kicking, with new readers all the time.
The statistics page only tells me how many hits I got for every post, this month, last month and total. I know nothing about who they are, whether they actually read, etc.

My "number 1" post was the leader since it was first published: “Baby seals are sooooo cute (more than penguins? maybe)”, a post about Wharariki beacj in New Zealand. (http://www.travelblog.org/Australasia/New-Zealand/South-Island/Nelson-Region/blog-5615.html). It was published in 18/3/05, almost a year ago, and attracted 857 readers since then.
My number 2 celebrated a year 2 weeks ago, “Penguins are so Cute!!!” (About Otago peninsula) (http://www.travelblog.org/Australasia/New-Zealand/South-Island/Otago/Dunedin/blog-4805.html)

But the big surprise is number 3. It wasn’t always number 3. In fact, it wasn’t that popular was it was just published, but recently it attracts more and more readers every month. With 104 readers in February and 75 readers in the first half of March, the post about “Wittenoom - a real ghost town!!” is slowly making its way up the list. (http://www.travelblog.org/Australasia/Australia/Western-Australia/blog-11939.html)

And this leaves me really curious. It’s a place so few people visit. I believe WA is the least visited state in Australia (big mistake btw, it’s a beautiful state). People that do get there do not always bother to make the long detour to Karijini National Park (again a big mistake, read my post “Karijini - the jewel of the West!!!”, 212 hits so far :-), and if they do, they don’t usually go all the way on the dirt road to the “Asbestos town” of Wittenoom. So who reads my blog???
So if you reached my blog while searching for Wittenoom, and you also read me now, I’d love to get a note (you can send messages through this site, or leave a comment). I’m so curious… and enjoy your visit there, say hi to Paul from the backpackers…


Advertisement



17th July 2010

I love the pilbarra.
I still believe Wittenoom got a raw deal. I lived in the Pilbarra for many years, visited the town, and to be honest I have considered going back there to finish my last few years where I am comfortable.. in the Pilbarra. Terry Carr. Clinton Mississippi.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0606s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb