My worst night: How I met a Neo-Nazi, Shoah (holocaust) denier


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia
June 19th 2005
Published: June 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It started as a regular evening in the backpacker in Kununura. I joined a table with some mixture of people - French, Italian, English, 2 Germans. Somehow the converstion went to politics. The French girl was interested to know why our P.M. Sharon said that France was dangerous to Jews. From there it drifted to talking about the situation in Israel and also to anti-Semitism. This German guy said some annoying things from the start, as “why the Germans still pay HUGE amount of money to Israel, his generation pays for something they are not related to”. He argued that they pay a lot, not only to survivors. Then he also said that Germany has to always support Israel and he doesn’t like that. And then it really started: “The Jews just invented all that so they can get our money and many other benefits”. “Does it make sense to you that while fighting in 2 fronts Hitler will sepnd resources on killing Jews?” (Of course it doesn’t make sense, are you looking for sense in this madness?). “It was a war, Jews died, just like others”. Etc., etc., etc.
I can’t explain my reaction. I didn’t go crazy. I sat there and tried to tell him things, to tell him facts. And suddenly I see the French girl (it was only the 3 of us at that time) looking at us with horror on her face. Maybe only then I really understood what was going on. There was no point continuing this conversation - he was so convinced even that there were Jewish ministers in Hitler’s government, what can I do in one evening in Australia that his teachers never did enough apparently?
It took me a while to fall asleep that night. The next day I was driving alone 500km to Katherine and I only listened to Israeli music in my mini-disc. I even burst into tears a few times when there were touching songs (“Menagev lach Tadmaot”, “Doch Rezach” about Rabin’s murder, “Shir Lashalom”…). For the first time probably I felt so lonely. I missed seeing Israelis for a while already after having seen only 5 in 2 months, but that day it was so strong. I tried called mom and dad but I didn’t find them. Well obviously I recovered eventually, but it was an important lesson - they really exist. You don’t just read about them in the newspaper, you can actually meet one. It’s sad and annoying. I see so many Germans here and most of them are ok (even there in the morning, the other German girl was shocked when she heard about that, she met they guy before and never thought he was like that, she went out of her way trying to convince me most Germans are not like that). But out there, there are also ignorant people, Neo Nazis, dangerous.


Advertisement



28th June 2005

I have no words
I have no words on what you describe. I must say outside of very few stupids lost teenagers who mix everything I never saw or heard it by myself those words. Being or not being a Jew is not important while you are facing this. Anat, I don't know what would have been my reaction -most likely BANG Tyson like ;)- . I just know I have no words to express you my warmfull greetings.
28th June 2005

Honey
I'm sorry you had to go through such an experience. It's shocking to realize how ignorant people are, and how twisted this world is and how sick minded are some of mankind. Love ya nd miss ya,
28th June 2005

Holocaust
Although I am not Jewish, I know a lot about the Holocaust. I have been to Auschwitz twice and seen the museums. I really feel sorry for Israelis when they encounter people like the German you did. One can never reason with them and trying to do so only brings about grief and frustration. They are more comfortable trying to make you feel like a fool while they make themselves feel brilliant. As an older man, I find this true for many young European people. Somewhere in their lives they have been encouraged to believe what they are told and read in the media and see on TV. They have not learned to think on their own. The same reasons for them having 2 world wars exists today. One can only hope they begin to see that all people are much the same. We all have salty tears and our blood is red. I hope you will feel better knowing the majority of people in the world are decent people who really care about you and the Israelis.
29th June 2005

Darling
Next time you'll meet them' throw them up to the nearest abysm' and tell them that "Shit happens" Stam maniakim!
29th June 2005

Can identify
I read about your bad experience and could realy relate to the feelings that overcame you after that. I lived in the USA for a long time, and although I never encountered any acts of semitizm, I did felt lonely at times, and missed Israel. I actually became a zionist and swore that when I would come back to Israel, I would never want to live anywhere else again. I remember these emotional momemts up until today , and I now appreciate living in Israel among my friends and family. So hope you'll enjoy the rest of your trip, just don't foerget where your home is.

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb