Perth a great city in the west.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Swan Valley
September 5th 2010
Published: November 30th -0001
Edit Blog Post

I felt like if I didn’t acknowledge how much I loved Perth in my travel blog, I would be committing a crime. I didn’t spend much time in the city itself. I did see most of the town area when posting “For Sale” signs for Cricket. It reminded me a lot of Seattle, and made me miss home terribly. We spent a day in Fremantle a smaller city just south of Perth; this area reminded me a lot of West Seattle.

Once we got the car cleaned and things packed up for the flight to Indonesia we spent the last two days in Swan Valley, the wine country just to the north east of Perth. The area had vineyards, rolling hills, horse pastures, with rivers and lakes; aka beautiful. To my surprise we only visited a few vineyards. Lancaster (they gave a cheese plate while sampling wine), Sandalford (they have this wine called a Botrytis Semillion, which I am positive the saying “The nectar of the gods” was created for this wine), and finally Fish Tail (this was a little family owned and operated place). Along the wine loop we found a chocolate factory (free samples) and a great little café with the best coffee in Australia called The Coffee Hut. All in all the area was amazing!

Our last day in Australia was September 6th; we went for a hike through an area called Bells Rapid in Swan Valley. I drove Cricket for my final time on the way back into Perth and sadly, with tears, we handed Cricket over to a very nice Swedish couple who plan to use her only on the weekends for wind surfing trips. I believe she is going to be very happy with them. The best part is we got full asking price for car and they gave us a ride to the airport!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 62; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb