2 Early Mornings and Adventure World! - February 22-25, 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
February 27th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Skating!!
On Thursday the 22nd I woke up at 5 AM (hurts, doesn't it) to go skating! That's right, I found ice here in the desert (or is it dessert?) Apparently there are only 2 rinks in all of Perth. And wouldn't you know it, one of them has a synchro team. So I'm now a member of Infusion, and I look forward to August when we get to represent Western Australia at Nationals in Newcastle, NSW (near Sydney).

As for the level of skating, I wasn't really sure what to expect. But it's pretty good! For the skaters out there - they're doing level 3 footwork, like choctaws and double-three's and one and a half twizzels. So it's pretty good! And the girls are all really nice, so I'm fitting in well.

I spent the rest of the day napping, doing some reading for school, and buying some groceries.

Early Morning number 2 - SURFING!!!
Another 5 AM wake-up for Friday...only instead of doing something I always do, I was off to do something totally new and different - SURFING!!! I was told before I left that this was a must-do while in Australia, so I decided to give it a try. And it was incredible! I was picked up in the city centre with some other students and we were off on an hour and a half van ride to Lancelin Beach. The spot is great for beginners because the waves are small and long. We arrived at the house in Lancelin and were taken upstairs for some quick pointers and a safety lesson. We then got suited up in our stylish wetsuits, and covered ourselves in some equally stylish zinc. The biggest danger out on the water - the SUN!! Apprently some girl burned the back of her eyelids, so I piled the zinc on. Unfortunately, it ended up getting in my eyes when I got in the water, and it stung. So I didn't put quite so much on in the afternoon...

Surfing was really hard...our instructor told us to go slow, start just riding the wave on our stomach, then slowly bring each foot up and try to stand up. It took me all morning, but I finally got up on the board and rode that wave to the shore - what a feeling!! Our instructor was GREAT, really friendly and encouraging. And totally had that surfer attitude, telling me to just get out there and DO IT and not over-think. And I succeeded!! We then took a break for some lunch. I was totally starving so I was so happy to have my sandwhich and muffin. After that little break, it was back to the water! The tide had started to come in, so the waves were a LOT bigger in the afternoon, making it harder to catch them, but also way more fun when you did! I caught a few, but most times I just fell off the board. Got LOTS of water up my nose. Mmm...salt water...(blech). We stopped after a few hours and headed back to the house. We got hosed off, put away our equipment, then headed back to the van and into Perth. I slept the whole way back, I was EXHAUSTED!! But all in all, it was a great day, and I'm hoping to go back again sometime soon.

A Day of Rest
Saturday was my day of rest, but quite frankly I got bored. So I started talking to my housemate May about what she was up to for Sunday. She also had nothing planned. So we thought and thought and decided to hit up Adventure World - a mini-Canada's Wonderland if you will.

Adventure World!!
So Sunday morning we got up and began our trek to Adventure World. It's actually quite close to where we live. Apparently the girl who lived in my room before me used to bike there. I would have biked there, but May doesn't have a bike. So we took the bus.

The park opened at 10, and we arrived around 9:45 - to a line-up! Loads of families were there waiting, lawn chairs under their arms, kids running around excitedly. We joined the line and entered with the crowd at 10.

I really wanted to go to the bumber boats, but they weren't open yet when we got there, so we headed for the place we'd both been pining for in the sweltering heat - the water park! They had this huge pool, and 4 water slides. And in the morning the line went really fast. The slides were great, in particular the Tunnel of Terror! which is this two-man tube slide that is totally enclosed until the very end. It had the longest line-up, but May and I waited in it a few times - it was totally worth it!

After a few hours of sliding, we stopped to eat some snacks we'd packed. We then went on this ride where you are in a little cart on a rail above the park. The cart moves by pedalling, so you can peddle your way around the top of the park. Then we hit up the bumper boats. Then we headed back to the water park. But by this time it had gotten reeeally crowded, so we didn't spend much time there. Instead we decided to visit the little zoo area and see the emus, koalas, and kangaroos! Then we went around the back of the park and found the kiddie area. And yes, in memory of Eman and I at Ocean Park in HK, May and I rode the little kiddie rides. They were fun! But not that exciting. So we went back to the water park and stayed there until the park closed at 5. Then we headed home, exhausted but happy.

And just in time for the big weigh-in on The Biggest Loser. It's a terrible show, yes, but reality TV is addictive! And it's on EVERY NIGHT!! And red team won by 0.2kg!! SO CLOSE!!

Side Note
Just a side note to congratulate everyone who was at the National Synchronized Skating Championships in Chicoutimi last weekend. WOO-WEE Nexxice won the gold!!! FINALLY!!! AHH so jealous I'll be missing World's in London, but then again, so will Black Ice, so all is well. MAHAHAHA I'm so evil...


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

The Emu hangs out with the ducksThe Emu hangs out with the ducks
The Emu hangs out with the ducks

Dedicated to Eman!! Or Emu, as she's also known...the ducks represent all the guys you're stuck with now that Ana and I are on the other side of the world...


28th February 2007

surfs up!
Dude! (or dudette...) I felt it necessary to say that since your surfing down under. I feel warmer just from looking at the beach. Such clear and blue water. The koalas look so cute, like plush toys so soft and pet-able. Ive an idea - you could smuggle one on the plane for me hahaha.
12th March 2007

koalas/photos
As always, your photos are wonderful! In my backyard, I have lots of wildlife - many types of birds, raccoon families that come out every evening, squirrels all day long and even skunks. And this is in the middle of Toronto. After seeing your shots of Australian mammals, I was wondering whether there is wildlife in the urban environment. Would there be koalas living freely near an urban environment? Great stories and photos!
22nd March 2007

hey look, i started reading your blog.
you just randomly joined a synchro team? that's hilarious.

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb