5 Weddings and No Funeral


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Scarborough
May 2nd 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The GirlsThe GirlsThe Girls

Sue & Caroline
DAY 176

I was up at 6.45, I have my Skype session for 7.00 with the girls who are partying on Friday night in England. It has been a while since we last spoke over Skype, partly due to the frequency of the get togethers and partly due to my location and internet availability.

I crept downstairs and shut the doors, booted up the laptop and put the kettle on, in no time at all the call was being answered in England, as usual I could hear lots of frivolity and screaming with laughter, I could see everybody on the screen.

Andy appeared and said it was too loud, I went outside on the veranda so that the noise did not reverberate around the house, but the veranda is covered and also produces and echo so Andy appeared again and said “Too loud!” I think he was hoping for some quiet time, which he was not going to get today, and he could not work on the blog as I was using the laptop.

I always have so much to say to them but always forget half of it. It looks as if they have been having
City SkylineCity SkylineCity Skyline

A view of Perth from Kings Park
a great time tonight, but they always ask me “When are you coming home?”

I speak to them all one by one, and after I don’t know how long it was time to wrap up the call, they needed to carry on partying (or go home!) and I needed another cup of tea and get on with the day ahead.

Otherwise it was a typical lazy Saturday morning, we had another late night last night, watching a couple of movies that was bliss, but of course it does have a knock on effect, we are not used to these late nights, usually we are in bed by 10.00 when we are camping.

Sue and I went for a walk down to Scarborough Beach, it is a great place to get some walking done, see the Indian Ocean, look at all the surfers anxiously waiting for “The Wave”, I cannot believe that there are so many people out on the beach and it is only 8.00.

While we walked Andy had his “quiet time”, he does like to be busy and not having anywhere to potter around does drive him nuts.

When Sue and I got
SamsonSamsonSamson

Sue's Great Grandfarther
back we had a good breakfast with toast, eggs, beans and tomatoes. Before long Andy asked if there were any jobs that needed doing, so Sue showed him to a leaking pipe that waters the plants at night, and with trowel in hand Andy dug the border out to expose the Pvc pipe. Andy asks Sue to go and turn it on so he can identify where it is leaking from, and in no time at all a new piece of pipe has been put in and all has been put back to normal.

I get on with some chores of my own like the washing, my whites are not so much white now, more of a grey. The washing machines on these campsites are not always up to much and keeping whites white is difficult, so I had a pile soaking overnight ready for the machine this morning. I look at the colour of the water, it looks filthy, which I am sure a lot of it is also the ingrained dust from some of the areas that we have been to.

The clothes are washed an on the line and looking normal again.

I spend a few hours uploading the missing pictures to the blog site, which you may remember caused a problem a couple of weeks ago, we had about 10 entries with missing pictures, I have managed to complete all but two now.

Andy spends time sorting the truck out as it is our plan to move on tomorrow. We don’t have much to do, but it is just about getting organised again.

Sue asked us if we would like to go to Kings Park, which is just next to the city, so we jumped in the car and in only 15 Minutes were pulling up in the Car Park. There are absolutely loads of people in the park, cycling, walking and just enjoying their weekends and the glorious sunshine.

Kings Park is very well landscaped and is absolutely huge, we walk around and we are grateful to Sue for being so enthusiastic in her obvious delight of being in the park. There is a great view of the city skyline, and the geography of Perth is a little easier to understand. It’s a very green city, with lots of parklands. We walk the tree top walk, which is absolutely
Sunny afternoonSunny afternoonSunny afternoon

I love to see people getting out and enjoying the open space
fabulous; during our walk we have seen 4 weddings in the park this afternoon already (It must be something in the water). There are a few limos hanging around waiting to wisk bride, groom and guests off to their receptions.

On the way back we see some more of the fabulous sights that this city has to offer including Cottesloe Beach, where we just about catch a beautiful sunset. On Cottesloe Beach we also see our 5th wedding of the day.

Back at Sue and Cliffs place, Sue asks us if we would like Fish and Chips tonight as their local Fish and Chip shop is first class, the Brighton Fish shop is only down the road so Sue phones the order through and I will go and collect it.

Fish for Caroline is a no no and I am a Cod and Chips man, as that is mostly what you can get in the UK, except for the introduction of Hoki as Cod has become so expensive.

I am keen to try something else, as I had my Oyster Kilpatrick experience with Sue and Cliff, which was great so Sue recommends the Snapper, it’s a good fish she exclaims.

Our fish alternatives, were, Snapper, Shark, Whiting, Barramundi, Cobbler, Dhufish or Red Emperor, and the specials were Orange Roughy, Pink Snapper, King Snapper or Coral Cod.

Sue and me go for the Snapper and Caroline has a Chico roll, which is a cross between a sausage and a spring roll.

It was absolutely beautiful, such a lovely fish, very similar to cod I think, but a new experience all the same.

We settle down as we have a movie to watch, Major Payne with Damon Wayans, a really funny film and we enjoyed it, however the DaVinci Code is on TV tonight so we make sure we see the first film in good time so not to miss the start of the next. We needed the funny film to watch as the DaVinci Code is quite intense.

Caroline was tired and went to bed just after the DaVinci Code started, Sue did not last much longer either before heading off to bed. I stayed up to 12.30 and watched it to the end. Another late night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

WeddingWedding
Wedding

One of 5 weddings we saw in the afternoon
Tree top WalkTree top Walk
Tree top Walk

It was very well done this tree top walk


Tot: 0.709s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 29; qc: 193; dbt: 0.5297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.7mb