End of an era - Back to reality


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Perth City
November 17th 2007
Published: November 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Over the past 12 months I have taken 18 flights visited 13 countries and covered more kilometers than its actually possible to count. After what seems to have been the quickest 9 months of my life I am about to head back to the real world :o(

I sometimes wonder why I do all this traveling I am not sure if I know why I think I have the need to balance life between work and play but it doesnt always work like that. Either its all work or all play!!! I also really believe that as you only live once you have to make the most of every day. Anyway I hope you have enjoyed my updates over the last 9 months and that they have brightened up your day. Its impossible to pick a favourite part of my travels (though there have been many highlights) so I thought I would recount some of my experiences and ply you with photos.

It goes without saying I look forward to catching up with you all over the next few months on my return. If I dont see you before then have a great christmas.

I have...

Seen many frozen lakes, met the scandanavian trolls, taken too many ferry rides to mention, seen snow piled 30 feet high, survived the russian underground and the russian underworld, visited cities closed to westerners until the early 90's, seen the biggest Lennin statue head in the world, survived russian roads and drivers, stayed with a nomad family, stayed in cities that dont have hot water, rode horseback over the Mongolian plains, met many people from all over the world (everyone world over is so friendly), white water rafted 80KM, slept in a Ger (tent), celebrated Mongolian independance day, survived real chinese food (only just mind you), climbed Sydney harbour bridge, tasted lots of aussie wine and beer, watched 6 foot tall male kangaroos fighting (in the wild), watched seals in the wild, stayed in a genuine eco lodge, watched wild dolphins up close, been sandboarding, stayed in a dacha, taken a banya, swung an aussie billie, watched wild koals and stayed on an outback farm.

These are just some of the experiences I can recall a lot of them being "firsts" the list doesnt take into account all of the beautiful places I have visited and all the amazing scenery I have seen.

Enjoy my last lot of photos.

Best wishes

Kevin


P.S. Anyone got a job!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



17th November 2007

Lazy
Yes all very nice. Now get back to work you lazy bugger. I am fed up of running UK plc single handed!
20th November 2007

back to reality
Kev Good to hear from you once again. Assuming you're back in Blighty, I'll call you at the weekend. I understand The Independent Policy Complaints Commision is recruiting, and the thing is, they're based in Leicester. Check out http://www.ipcc.gov.uk/ - worth a call maybe

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb