Mess and distress...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Joondalup
November 26th 2011
Published: November 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Oh, it must have been some party last night. There is not one bottle of beer left in the house. Well there's about a million empty bottles but none with even a drop in. The only alcohol that appears to remain is Rudi's secret stash of 4 bottles of spirit, only untouched because we ran out of mixers at around 3am.

I'm up first - clearly I didn't drink nearly enough as I'm sober as a judge and hangover free, and appear to still be thinking about Kurt Cobain being Jewish....or not... I set to work on a bit of a clear up - first stop washing up the early hours Scottie barbecue, next stop the bottles... Fortunately Dave woke up not long after so he and I managed to fill the recycling bin to the top with the bottles. It's not recycling day until Thursday. We'd better stay dry til then.

Off to Hillary's for brunch, minus Mel who's still clearly in a pickle from last night. Hillary's has changed a lot since 2008 - I loved it then but it's even more lovely now. They've extended the marina and resited the pub to be overlooking the harbour rather than facing inland. We sat at practically the same table as I had done with Ang and Steve the last time I was over here. Brought back some very happy memories of getting to know them both, and feel very lucky that I can still call them my friends today.

There was only one way to top breakfast and that was with a trip to the pub. So off to the Sov we went, to wait for Dan who was, and I quote, 'on his way'. Two pints later, and with it becoming touch and go as to whether or not we bought a third, he strolled on in...

I chickened out of further beers in the pub that night to watch the football. It's funny because with the time difference, you can go out at 8pm on a saturday night and get 3 Premier League games in before you come home, most likely in a bit of a pickle. Also a 4pm Sunday game, like Liverpool's is this week, loses its appeal as it starts Perth-time at midnight. Not good if you've got work on Monday.

Instead the girls stayed behind and watched Pirates 4 and Water for Elephants, the latter of which made me cry like a girl. Still exhausted from the night before, the miracle is that I stayed awake throughout both. The bad news is that I think tomorrow, Sunday, will be a total write-off instead - have a feeling that it's going to be a case of delayed tiredness....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb