Day 4 - D' Entrecastreaux National Park


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Pemberton
April 12th 2015
Published: April 16th 2015
Edit Blog Post

We all have a well-deserved sleep in which I did not feel guilty about at all after the last two nights. Allen & Libby are leaving today so I went over to say good bye. They were really worried about us when they noticed all but one tent remaining at the site (as I had to stagger the exodus due to drying logistics). I thought they might be concerned because that's the sort of people they are, so I thought I'd explain myself and say good bye. I bid them a safe journey back home and there were hugs all round. Unfortunately, it was still very bleak and inhospitable outside. Our only options for the days' entertainment are to spend more money and consume more calories at the Bakery or a café somewhere, just go driving or stay in the cabin. Our new neighbours are a large family in a caravan and they were all crammed in under the outdoor shelter. We could hear a rather heated argument taking place within the family. I surmised it was nothing but the symptoms of cabin fever which is very contagious so I made a decision to get the hell out of there and fulfill my burning desire to go to Windy Harbour via D 'Entrecasteaux National Park. I knocked up some peanut butter sandwiches, juice boxes and a some snacks and off we go.





You see, I really did have a 'burning' desire to take this journey as I wanted to see for myself the devastating effects of the State's most significant bushfire last summer. In February about 80,000 hectares were burnt after a lightning strike. The fire perimeter was a massive 240km long and most of the drive from Northcliffe, 30km from Pemberton, to Windy Harbour there was evidence of this. Luckily, no one was killed but we could see how terrifyingly close it got to the town and to other homes nestled in the forest. All residents and holiday makers who hadn't already left were told to evacuate to the beach but fortunately the little hamlet was saved. There is nothing more to Windy Harbour other than several beach shacks and a camp ground, not even a shop and I guess that's why everyone likes it here. Anyway, Windy Harbour really lived up to its name today. D 'Entrecasteaux Point was just a 6km drive away so we decided to have our picnic lunch there…....in the car, because of the….you guessed it! The fire here had reached the southern end of Terra Australis and on the drive back it was fascinating to see the beautiful hand of nature in the regenerative powers of the Australian bush after a devastating bushfire merely two months ago.





Once we ate, it was time to move onto Beedelup Falls in Beedelup National Park via a detour to the Heartbreak Trail in the Warren National Park on the Karri Explorer Route. This one way track is not far from the Bicentennial Tree off the Old Vasse Road and it has to be by far the most scenic and beautiful in the whole area. My photos didn't really do it justice. Beedelup Falls were actually falling after all this rain so it presented itself as an opportunity for me to practice my slow exposures. The boys ran off exploring somewhere so I was able to take my time setting up the shot. I actually had to set up on the suspension bridge which is not exactly a stable environment to even be bothering about putting a tripod on. But I figured if I was really careful to bridge would not swing at all. After half an hour of running off the bridge to shelter out of another shower, running back onto the bridge, waiting for the bridge to stop swinging, putting on all my filters, running back off the bridge to stop my camera and lens from getting wet, back onto the bridge, working up a sweat, experimenting with multiple exposures to get the right effect. Just as I pressed the shutter for a slow exposure time my double trouble boys leapt out of nowhere and began jumping up and down on the end of the suspension bridge. Me and my tripod nearly fell through the gap into the Beedelup River and my National Geographic award winning shot was ruined, totally ruined.





I ran as fast as one can on a suspension bridge (not a good idea, but I was really angry and was not thinking or running straight). The boys cut for it as they knew what was coming. Seeing as they are now faster than me I had the only disciplining tool left at my disposal, my voice. I am glad no one else was there to hear screaching mother in the forest. Back in the carpark, I had calmed down enough to allow them back in the car for lift back into Pemberton. However, I reneged on my promise to take them to the free wifi at a local café. Damn, I wonder what is happening on FB. Instead, I tortured them by stopping every 100m on the way back on Channeybearup Road to take scenic pictures of the strawberry field rows and vineyards. In the end, I relented and took them to a café without wifi as I was hankering for a hot chocolate after swinging like Indiana Jones off that bridge. By happenstance I noticed at the end of the Pemberton Pub there was this lovely café which is advertised very little went unnoticed by me on the crowded Saturday night. I am going to need something a bit stronger back at the park though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Burnt area in foreground with Windy Harbour settlement in background


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb