2 days on train..I must be crazy!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Nullarbor Plain
January 16th 2011
Published: January 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I check out at 10am and headed over to the train station as my train wasn't until 11:55am I had to wait a bit. Turns out Jo was also there as her bus left from the same station and she is on her way to another country pub. So we got to have a hug and say goodbye again. No matter how many goodbyes I go through they never get any easier. I hopped on the train and was asked to switch seats with a guy as he wanted to sit next to his gf so that was ok. I had a seat to myself until we got to Kalgoorlie. The train zoomed past Southern Cross one last time for me. I made sure to wave. I'm in the red service cars and while they aren't luxurious you do get loads of leg room and the seat does recline quite a bit. There are toilets and showers on board and you get a free towel.

I slept a bit, read a bit and watched a movie on my laptop. The train stays in Kal for 2 hours or so and you can get off. I'd been to Kal enough that I was over it and didn't get off, besides it was at 10:30pm. So I fell asleep before we eveen left Kal at 1am. I did feel someone crawl over my legs so I knew someone would be there when I woke up. I had a terrible sleep because of the man across from me snoring his head off loudly. But what can you expect right?

The next morning we were right in the middle of the Nullabor. There really is nothing there. Small shrubs and red dirt. I talked to the girl sitting next to me and turns out that she was doing the exact same thing as me, stopping in Adelaide for a day and then hopping on a train to Melbourne the next day. So we really hit it off and had some good conversations about traveling and our plans. We stopped for about an hour in one of the only towns along the train line called Cook. The populations is 4 people, 2 dogs, 100 dingoes and a million flies hahaha.

At one point the town was much busier but now there are many abandoned houses and the school is empty. There was a hospital here as well run by a missionary doctor. It's now closed. There is a souvenir shop with all kinds of touristy things. Catriona and I explored the town before we had to hop back on the train. The sunset from the train was really pretty as the moon was out and the sky was 3 different colours.

Last night on the train and I can't wait to sleep in a real bed!






Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Evacuation pointEvacuation point
Evacuation point

The military used to do nuclear bomb testing not far from here in the 1950's and the kids at the school used to have to practice what to do.
I love itI love it
I love it

Trying to get people to come to the hospital


24th January 2011

http://indian-travel-tourism.blogspot.com/
Hi i was planning a trip to beautiful Australia and after reading your blog, i will surely try this train journey. I am sure this will be pretty interesting and i will get to see the real charm of this wonderful country. Thanks for telling me all this.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb