NW Trip Day 8 - One more gorge and 'The Newm' - April 11, 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Newman
April 30th 2007
Published: April 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We had our one and only sleep-in of the trip on this fine morning. Unfortunately, we had become so accustomed to waking up at the crack of dawn that most people were unable to sleep in. I would have like to have slept longer, but alas, the noise woke me up. We had a slow, relaxing morning of the usual getting up, taking down camp, and eating breakfast. We loaded our stuff into the buck but before we drove away, we headed for one last gorge hike.

Not much to say, it was a standard hike, no craziness. We had a nice swim in the pool at the end, which had both waterfalls AND a place to jump off. The flies were HORRIBLE anywhere but in the pool, and since I had lost my sunglasses the day before, they were loving my eye. But the pool was nice, albeit a bit cold. After our swim we headed back to the buck for a fun travel day.

Our final destination was the booming metropolis of Newman (or 'The Newm' as I call it. Yes, I like to give small outback towns nicknames.) We made ANOTHER outback hospital stop, although this time Athena and I stayed on the buck while Kristen headed into Newman hospital about an arm injury. Apparently this hospital was pretty low-tech, and they advised going back to Tom Price! We didn't, since we would be in Perth in two days, but clearly the message is that Athena and I had been at the creme de la creme of outback hospitals (and I am no one to disagree - that place was awesome!)

While Kristen was in hospital we went and set up our camp at the Newman campgrounds. We then headed into town where I was able to purchase a new pair of sunglasses. We retrieved the sling-clad Kristen and headed back to camp for dinner and hanging out.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

John gets confused about what month it isJohn gets confused about what month it is
John gets confused about what month it is

This guy got all his shirts from a thrift store, and they were all pretty funny, but this one takes the cake. Every time I saw it I started to crack up...


18th May 2007

Gorgeous (pun intended) photos, as always.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb