Margaret River


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Margaret River
December 13th 2018
Published: December 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday started with an early brilliant breakfast in Freo.... Truffled eggs with bacon!

Then I hit the grit and drove several hours with a cxouple of stops down to Margaret River. The later stages of that driveincluded a visit to Cape Naturaliste where I managed a 30 minute coastal walk around the heathland. Itwould have been a nice walk but the 5 million flies that constantly landed on my face, tried to crawl into my ears (and nose) and were a complete pain, drove me away. Not good. Then I drove down the "Caves Road" (more on caves in the next blog) and headed to Margaret River, past dozens of wineries, in rather disappointing weather- dull and cloudy. These looked very inviting but I pressed on and got to Margart River in the afternoon. Had look around and visited the local tourist info place. (BTW these are uniformly good in the parts - lots of info, maps and helpful people). It transpired that there were several large wineries not too far away so I ended the day with two "Cellar door" vists and sampled the local wines. Complimentary tastings at these places - all very enjoyable. My hotel, just outside
Cape Leeuwin LighthouseCape Leeuwin LighthouseCape Leeuwin Lighthouse

Still operational. I climbed to the top!
town was a bit tired and dated... But it will do. Dinner was a good pasta - salcicci (italian sausage) which Cj would have enjoyed.

Wednesday was aboutgoing UP first and then DOWN. First off I headed South to the other Cape in this South Western corner of the country. Cape Leeuwin is interesting as it is right on the corner of the continent. It is not the further west point, not the further south but it is where the Indian Ocean meets the Southern Ocean. I climbed the lighthouse (with a guide) for a stunning but somewhat vertiginous views. Look one way up the West Coast (the direction I had come down). Turn through (a bit more than) 90 degrees and look along the Southern Coast (where I will heading). The flies where present but not as bothersome here... And the sun was out ... A lovely day for going underground !! .... More on that in the next blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb