Mandurah Tri-athlon


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Mandurah
March 11th 2012
Published: April 17th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Triathlon Gets Rid of Jet Lag  Triathlon Gets Rid of Jet Lag  Triathlon Gets Rid of Jet Lag

Ken on a borrowed race bike - thank you Josh!
Our newest friend and triathlete, Josh, picked us up at 6:30am to drive to Mandurah for a mini tri-athlon. Swim 150 meters Bike 8 Km Run 2km NEXT, go jump in the ocean again and repeat all three events.

Easy and fun - even I can do this. First, the men all jumped in and made a wave, and then the women followed. On the first swim, all swimmers were close together so our group splash was sufficient to scatter the tiny, almost transparent jellyfish. The tiny jellyfish had drifted into the sheltered bay on this very morning! The second swim was very unpleasant, most swimmers were dispersed after finishing their biking and running. So the second swim had small groups of 3 or 4.

Watch this next scenario. Enter one innocent, naive Canadian female. Within 50 meters of swimming I felt a stinging burn on my left thigh, then smarting stings on both arms and then the other thigh, next my ankle collided with a jelly. I burst into tears and started to yell "this really burns" !

OK, so was I a wimp? I think I screamed. I started to swim dog-paddle stroke to see what
 Mandurah Triathlon -  No more Jet Lag for me ! Mandurah Triathlon -  No more Jet Lag for me ! Mandurah Triathlon - No more Jet Lag for me !

Ken in a borrowed tri-suit - Again, thank you Josh!
surrounded me. The young lifeguard on her paddleboard came alongside me "no worries - I can guide you." You have to love the reassuring way those Aussies say "no worries."

She directed me to swim slightly to the left to avoid a jelly and as she peered into the sparkling clear water she saw another drifting translucent jelly and directed me to swim to the right. I finished my swim by dodging the jellies, either left or right as she guided me back to the beach.

After all participants were finished, everyone stood around displaying their "badge of honor", small red welts from the jellies. My skin reacts to mosquito bites so I watched my red welts closely to see if anything would develop. Ken was stung on the side of his face and had a minor welt on his arms. He swims so fast the jellies scattered. The locals suggest having a jug of vinegar in your car to pour on the affected areas or ask your young son to pee on your arm. hmmmm ... I did not see any young volunteers and did not really wish to ask.

A warm welcome from the triathlon
Perfect  Biking Temperature - No Shivers ! Perfect  Biking Temperature - No Shivers ! Perfect Biking Temperature - No Shivers !

Mandurah Tri-athlon - I need that "Keep Left" Reminder!
community makes a wonderful start in local activites.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb