I'll go to heaven for the weather...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everyone!! ...ready to hear some more adventures?

Well, I ended up only leaving Sydney on the 30th of January when I was supposed to leave on the 2nd... Its true what they say about that place and the people- its impossible to leave! And if I hadnt had a whole (rather large) country to see I could have easily stayed there forever! (Ill definately be back!)

The last few weeks in Sydney included doing a 3 day costal walk with a friend, it was so beautiful and we saw some amazing wildlife along the way! It was strange being so close to Sydney and yet all of the beaches we walked through and camped on were completely deserted! I also went to an amazing mexican party, had a few drunken nights out in Manly and went to the Big Day Out festival which was one of the funniest and best days so far! It was also one of the hottest days so far reaching 35 degrees before 9 in the morning...so it got pretty hot dancing!! We ended up losing one of our mates and when we eventually met us at home the next morning he was so drunk he had lost a shoe, couldnt remember anything and was convinced we had to hide him from the police.... I have not laughed so hard in my entire life! We ended up getting pretty drunk the night before Australia day (in an attempt to recover from the Big Day Out) and so Australia day was spend in the fetal position for fear of being sick.... one to remember none-the-less.
We also did the manly scenic walk which was beautiful and the walk out to long reach along the beach for the sunset the night before I left Sydney. I got the Manly ferry to the airport when I left and admitedly as the ferry turned to the view of the Sydney skyline, the Opera House and the harbour bridge I did get slightly emotional....Sydney is such a beautiful place 😊

So I got a plane to Perth to meet my friend Danni who I met on my first week out here and I have a job with her riding race horses!!! This has to be the most amazing job ever! We excercise the horses in the mornings and it is so incredible going to races and track days and trials and watching the horses you ride run the track with a jocky on!! Its also not too far from Perth and close to local towns so we get to go out at weekends, on Saturday we went to the beach and went on some inflateable rock climbing walls in the Mandurah river which were so much fun! We also went to a friends aunts house who had a spa which we sat in whilst there was a huge thunderstorm going on which was amazing! Last Saturday we went to a rodeo which was very entertaining to watch, and once the rodeo had finished there was a disco in the field where all the cowboys and gals got drunk! In a couple of weekends were going camping on Rotness Island for a friends birthday - apparently the surfing and snorkelling are amazing so im looking forward to that a lot!

I read something the other day which made sense to me... it said "you know youre settled in Australia when you dont giggle foolishly when someone calls flip-flops 'thongs' and you eat vegiemite when its not for a dare" If I added on "says 'ay' and 'but' at the end of sentences, 'bloody oath', 'fully' and greet people with 'how are you going mate' I know I definately fit in 😊

I hope everyone is well....I was jealous of the snow for a bit but the beach and sun soon sorted that out! Thank you Shirley and Donna for your messages .... yes, I do want to stay here forever!! Tanya, I am trying my hardest to save but its pretty hard at the moment with so much to do and see!!!

Enjoy the photos, lots of love from meee xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb