Westwards to Perth & Freemantle


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
December 10th 2018
Published: December 10th 2018
Edit Blog Post

SC : I'm now on the solo leg of the trip heding out West ...

Yesterday I was up and out early for my flight (flight number 8 of RTW4) from Sydney to Perth. Cathy got up early to take me to the local bus stop and from there I took public transport. I was not expecting much from my 5 hours, 4,500 km and three time zones flight to Perth in Western Australia but it turned out quite well. No issues except a particulalrly long wait for luggage. Then I drove my hire car down ot Fremantle (only 40 minutes and got settled into my decent city centre hotel around lunchtime. This left me time to explore downtown and the famous "Freo Market".... I should explain here the Aussie predilection for shortening names And words generally. Freo is Freemantle, Rotto is Rottnest (more on that later). Even Nik is getting in on the local trand. We have discussed her plans for modernising their house - the grand renovation project ...or RENO for short!

Anyway, back in Freo I reaquainted myself with some places we visited on RTW3 back in 2011. Nice to be back. Freo is on the
Free beer at a launch partyFree beer at a launch partyFree beer at a launch party

Lucky lucky lucky, I should be so lucky..
mouth of the Swan river 19 kms from Perth, but it's really like a laid back suburb. It has a very friendly vibe (everyone asks how you're doing), several good museums and loads of cafes, pubs and good restaurants. It's is a lovely sort of quaint place with many period buildings... Very attractive. I had a nice FREE beer at a place that just happened to be doing a launch of a new beer.... Lucky timing on that one and good beer too. I also vistied the "Little Creatures" brewery / pub /restaurant... Where Cj and I had had a delightful lunch back in 2011. I was in bed early, because it felt like gone midnight, have gained 3 hours on the flight over the whole width of OZ.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Freo marketFreo market
Freo market

Great market... Where I bought a couple of Xmas presents including one for me!


Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0637s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb