Have you heard about "fish-o-phobia"?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Exmouth
June 8th 2005
Published: June 25th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I invented the term to describe my unexplainable fear of fish in the sea. I love fish on my plate… and I can handle them when I swim in fresh water pool in rivers. But I can’t go snorkeling in the open sea! I did it once years ago in Eilat, but that was the only time. I came here determined to get over that. I know, they are small, they are more scared of me… but I simply couldn’t. I only enjoy the fish when there is thick glass between us, as in an underwater observatory or a glass bottom boat. Well, of course here wasn’t a good place to overcome my fear when I hear about sea snakes (more venomous than land snakes! They say they don’t attack if you don’t harass them, but I didn’t believe) and when I hear that Helen and Marit saw 3 sharks in the reef, and not the small reef sharks but a big and dangerous one. However I have to admit, I wouldn’t do it even without knowing about the sharks and the snakes. Anybody has a good advice how to overcome that before I get to Cairns and my second chance with the Great Barrier Reef???

Advertisement



Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 21; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0961s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb