Exmouth and Coral Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Exmouth
June 10th 2005
Published: June 15th 2005
Edit Blog Post

4WD on its way4WD on its way4WD on its way

This wasn't the real tough part. In the real tough part I wanted to be in the car
If you were still worried, then I'm ok - the mosquitoes attack was over and maybe they were not sand flies after all because they didn't itch for too long.
So on Wednesday I went on this 4WD safari tour. It was a nice day although a huge waste of money... I thought we would do some hiking but we walked for maybe 15 minutes... crossing the range with the 4WD was awesome, I admit to that. And then we also had a boat cruise in a really lovely gorge called Yardie Creek Gorge. The cakes that came with morning and afternoon tea were really tasty... and that's about it, the rest of the day was boring :-) However, every minute of watching this beautiful cristal clear water in the ocean here is amazing.

In the evening when I returned we took off to Coral Bay. This is a tiny resort village again by the Ningaloo reef. I wanted to do a glass bottom boat cruise there but the weather on Thursday was horrible and it was cancelled. On Friday the weather was a bit better and I went on a whale watching cruise. It was a small boat and outside the bay the wind and waves were still pretty strong. Luckily, I did get to see the whales before I "collapsed" and went feeding the fish with everything I had eaten before...I was really glad to be on the shore again at the end. Well, I knew it was going to happen, I had that every time I went on a small boat in my Navy days, but I really wanted to see the whales and I decided it was worthwhile. And it was.

Apart from that I didn't do much in Coral Bay, just chilling out, reading my new book, meeting people. In fact, I had my first "real date" for months - I met a guy there and he took me out to dinner! Well it was really nice but unfortunately our paths do not really cross again...




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

My first Echidna!!!My first Echidna!!!
My first Echidna!!!

Another cute animal that you se only here. This was the first one I saw not in a picture


Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb