BEACHES!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Dunsborough
September 6th 2013
Published: September 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Day 5- Friday, September 6th



We got up pretty early again, partly because we went to bed at 9, partly because we had to leave by 10. The plan for the day was to go to as many beaches as possible, which I think we did a pretty good job accomplishing. And it was amazing! The scenery down in this part of WA is simply breathtaking. Every place we went was so beautiful and each had its own feel.

We went back to Prevelley first to see it in the day time. I picked up some shells while we were there. Then we went to Yallingup where we saw surfers and Karen almost stepped on a Bob Tail lizard. It was so funny because Carla had just warned us about them and said they bite. Not even 2 minutes later were walking along the path and Karen screams so I look up and there’s this lizard staring me down. Needless to say I ran hah. There were a bunch of rocks out in the ocean here as well so I made my way out into the middle and watched the waves for a while. They were so huge! I thought for sure a few of them were going to get me from where I was sitting but I stayed dry. We stopped at Smith’s beach for a bit going back, then headed over to Eagle Bay. We had stopped in town before we left for the day and got some food for a picnic, which we ate at Eagle Bay. This was another gorgeous beach, secluded and good for swimming, not so much surfing. We made a friend while we were there. This guy was sitting on the beach with a dog when we got there, and when we walked down to the beach the dog came over to say hi to us. I assumed it belonged to the guy he was sitting with, but apparently not. He said he didn’t know where the dog came from and had just been sitting with him for a while. He had some tags that said his name was Cooper and had a phone number on it so I called. Since the guy he was with earlier was the only one on the beach I assumed his owner didn’t know where he was. I was correct and the woman that answered said she was sending her brother out to get him. Cooper hung out with us until the woman’s brother came and got him. We played with him for a bit and he joined us in our picnic. Then the brother came and honked his horn. Cooper was up the steps before he even got out of the car.



We stayed at Eagle Bay for a while longer after Cooper left. Karen took a bunch of photos while Carla and I laid on the beach enjoying the sun. It’s funny, I’ve been in Australia for a month and a half now yet I still haven’t put on a bathing suit. Soon though, it’s almost summer. After Eagle Bay we went to Bunker Bay. Apparently it’s a pretty popular beach, but it really wasn’t all that exciting. The next beach we went to, which was right around the corner, was absolutely gorgeous, yet not many people know about it. It’s called Shelley Beach and it’s spectacular! My favorite beach so far. There is no way you can swim in in because it’s so rocky, but the water is so blue and the rock and the trees just make it magical. I’ve decided that’s where I’m getting married, if it’s a practical option when the time comes. It was absolutely breathtaking. (I’m running out of adjectives to use because it was just that incredible!) We went back to Sugarloaf after Shelley Beach to get more photos. It wasn't as adventurous as the last time, but it was still gorgeous and I got to see a different view of the ocean. Instead of climbing the rocks, I went down a little path the lead closer to the ocean to sit and took it all in. The views I saw on this trip were amazing and I wish so badly we could go back. I would be out there all the time if I lived close enough.



We went to Simmo’s to get ice cream after that. They have a million flavors to choose from, and I can’t even remember what I got but I know it was delicious. I think I got something called Experiment which was a mint ice cream that had cookie pieces in it, kind of like thin mints but with cream. So good! We went back to the Bussleton after and went back to the jetty. We were actually able to watch the sunset this time and it was amazing. So gorgeous and the weather was really nice. Karen got a lot of good photos, as per usual. Again, it was nice just relaxing on the beach enjoying the sunset.

We played on the jungle gym and swings afterwards. Who says you’re too old to do that??


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 25


Advertisement




she sells sea shells by the sea shore


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb