Sleeping Crooked


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Dunsborough
January 1st 2011
Published: January 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Monarch ButterflyMonarch ButterflyMonarch Butterfly

Taken at the resort in Dunsborough.
Well, I never was able to get on the internet at Dunsborough so here we are in Walpole and you still wont get this until tomorrow at the earliest and this could all make no sense what-so-ever. Ah well, I shall forge on. As expected Dunsborough was nice and relaxing, a trip to The Margaret River Chocolate Factory one day, a trip to Simmos Icecream the next, lots of swimming and a couple games of Tennis and our resort holiday was complete. Simmos is great, if you've never been, they stock about forty flavours of Ice cream, I had talked for days about trying the Liquorice but in the end I chickened out and went for a fig type. As always the chocolate factory had plenty of chocolate (as you'd expect funnily enough) and of course we ate our fill. Lachlan kept sneaking around the side and back in for the free samplers, I defended him to his mum and aunty Amber, saying he wouldn't do such a thing, but he did so I made sure he felt nice and guilty, just for a minute.

One note, in a fiercely contested tennis match I soundly defeated Ross thus asserting my
Augusta LighthouseAugusta LighthouseAugusta Lighthouse

I try always to avoid people in my scenery photos - so a dodgy shot of the lighthouse is the result
superiority and upholding the honour of the Eastern states, especially NSW. We also decided it's a good thing we don't box together as we're both so competitive someone (Ross hehe) would surely get hurt.

Upon leaving Dunsborough we travelled about 60km South to the Conto campground where we were to camp the night, we instead decided to drive down a horribly corrugated dirt road to see the beach, the road went far to long so we decided to turn around, Belinda suggested a terrible spot to turn around (I don't bother arguing anymore) and I readily agreed and reversed the trailer into a large rock smashing a blinker and tail light in the process. I was quite annoyed for a few minutes and Bel was gracious enough to accept that the whole thing had been a bad idea and that it was hers.

So we traveled a little further to a little National Park near Hamelin Bay which was very nice and quiet and surrounded by huge Karri trees. Our only issue with this spot was the incredibly bad angle we were forced to sleep on that ended up leaving us stiff and sore in the morning and not very well rested.

By this point we were well and truly in Karri country, and they truly are a magnificent sight. For anyone who has never seen these giants of the forest they are the best trees I've ever seen, they are a nice pale colour and easily confused as grey gum or similar tree. However they are invariably straight and huge with most reaching over 50m in height and a lot of them a lot higher. Where they grow, there doesn't seem to be to much scrubby undergrowth and the forest is really open and prehistoric looking. This area also has a massive amount of bird life and I've found I really enjoy a bit of bird watching, weird.

We woke from our crooked camp and made the short trip to Augusta, I'm not sure why Augusta is there, but it's very pretty and has a lighthouse that is 115years old and still working. To look at it, it is in such good condition you'd think it was built yesterday. There wasn't a huge amount to do but look at the lighthouse and the imaginary line where the Southern Ocean meets the Indian Ocean so we did that. Then we had a nice Devonshire Tea with fresh made scones at the cafe out there, very yum. There was some photos in the obligatory tacky gift shop of some of the huge seas they get down there, it would be awesome to be here ina big southerly storm, I hope we're not though as I don't think our camper trailer would hold up to it. Every time I put it up lately I find another seam coming apart or ring pulling out, very rationally I get quite annoyed at this and tell it how much I hate it, then find myself hoping it can't hear me just in case it completely falls apart, then even more scary, I'm apologising to it, I've only been on the road a couple weeks too.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb