Surf's Up


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Derby
September 25th 2011
Published: September 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Camp officially began Wednesday morning but of course nothing school work related really got done before that. I was just as excited as the kids and when the bus rolled out of Derby; I felt sure it was going to be a great trip.

Our accomodation was St. Mary's High School rec room floor. It sounds horrible sleeping in one room with 20 children but it was a fabulous bonding time.
We spent a total of 4 hours at Cable Beach learning (term used loosely as the instructor was hopeless) 2 sessions later and most of the kids were able to stand up by the end of it. They thoroughly enjoyed the challenge, as did I.
The other activities we planned were also embraced whole heartedly by the class. The Amazing Race through Broome Boulevard Shopping Centre went down a treat and I think it will grow to be something the upcoming grades will look forward to.

The kids were on their best behaviour and we all had a brilliant trip. We got back into Derby mid-afternoon Friday and most of the class looked ready to drop.

I was ready for a 'grown up drink' and went straight to the bottle shop for a bottle of gin! The next few hours were spent catching up on Derby news and of course the usual Friday night trip to the Boab Inn.
Saturday was sleep-alot day and I'm not sure if it was sleeping with the aircon on during camp, the changing weather or the fact that it is the end of term but I had a sore throat and couldn't shake that groggy feeling!
Although I had the footy on I slept through most of it.

Today has been a catchup on school work day and I nearly feel back to normal tiredness levels.
Tonight I'm off to watch Bridesmaids at our version of the movies (Beck and Caitlyn's projector) and eat homemade sushi so it'll be a relaxing end to a rejuvenating weekend.

Next weekend Mia and Jarrad arrive and we are planning on heading up the Dampier Peninsula which is something I have been looking forward to all year.
Hope everyone has a great week and if you are going on holidays, have a safe and relaxing time. xoxoxox


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0334s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb