Roadtrip 1, Day 6: Walpole to Denmark


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Denmark
April 12th 2008
Published: May 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After surviving the night with the Blair witch we started to head towards Denmark. The first stop of the day was at the Tree Top Walk to look at the giant red tingle trees. Now, in Australia there is quite a nasty spider called a red back. I had never seen one (and hoped not to either) but I assume at least some of the spider is red. As we were driving along I happened to look down and there on my leg was a little red and black spider. I can't remember my exact words but I'm sure you can all imagine. Rhod dispensed of the beast and we set to work trying to establish what it was. Our road map has a very limited guide to Australian flora and fauna and I decided that it was a red-headed mouse spider, one of the creatures listed under dangerous wildlife. Anyway, no harm came of the incident but to this day I know I looked death in the face. I will now admit that it was not a red back or a red-headed mouse spider but I think (although Del is having none of it) it was a red and black spider. This is what the internet says about red and black spiders: 'toxicity is uncertain, handle with caution'. I repeat, I looked death in the face that day!

Anyway, back to the sightseeing. Loads of the red tingles have hollow trunks where the old wood has been burnt by bushfires. Somewhere there are photos of us standing in some of the trees but the battery in my camera had died by this point so I'll add them when I track them down.

After spending the morning wandering around the forest, we moved on to Greens Pool (following a recommendation from someone at the Tree Top Walk). Greens Pool was a really nice beach and just in the water were massive boulders. It was perfect for a little dip and a bit of basking on the sun-warmed rocks. It was also our first swim in the Southern Ocean.

We then drove to Denmark to set up camp for another night. As I was driving I noticed the car behind was driving really close and flashing their lights. I assumed that they were desperate to overtake and when we were the subjects of some Australian road rage. I was calling them all sorts of names and when we arrived in Denmark and pulled into the drive-through bottle shop, they followed. I was now certain they were road ragers. They pulled up alongside us, wound down their window and handed Rhodri my towel...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb